We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Morocco!”

Dar El Walidin Chez Jamjami Monssif
Ranked #290 of 875 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Morocco!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We ate at this lovely restaurant twice during our stay in Morocco.

The restaurant is situated in Riad Laarous, nestled in among a narrow main street of shops shops and more shops :-)

The entrance is lit up with candles and a colourful front door which enticed us in. We were greeted by a man in dress, who guided us up the stairs and into the most inviting little Moroccan gem. Its not a big place, but enough to seat maybe 20. Big comfy couches with pillows at the back, authentic decor and Moroccan music to really make you feel like you have arrived in this amazing city.

The menu is not extensive, but none of the reasonably priced restaruants in Morooco are. I went for the veg tagine the first time and it was lovely. The second time I had the chicken shish with Moroccan Salad which was fantastic. Followed by Mint Tea and Patiserries.

The service was most excellent, nothing we asked for was too much trouble and the man who served us was calm, friendly and relaxed.

I highly recommend this restaurant, the food was great, service fantastic and we really felt like we had stumbled upon a real peice of Morrocco.

Thanks everyone at Dar El for making our dinner outings so special!

Charlene and Helen
Dec 2013

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlenemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holbaek, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent value and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This small family style restaurant is characterized by good traditional Moroccan food and a friendly and cosy atmosphere. Prices are very reasonable, most main courses around 50-60 dirham. You can eat in a lounge style area surrounded by colourfull cussions.

Helpful?
1 Thank DocMartinAndersen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Small good restaurant, nice interior, typical morrocain foods, couscous and tajines. Friendly familiar atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in the medina, El Walidin offers good service and delicious food at bargain prices. Dinner for two 150 dirhams!
Definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mover625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar El Walidin Chez Jamjami Monssif also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar El Walidin Chez Jamjami Monssif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing