We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice break from Moroccan food, but not memorable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of I Limoni

I Limoni
Ranked #12 of 768 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the medina of marrakech, in the chaos of tangled alleys, suddenly, over a carved wooden door, a world unexpected. The patio shaded by lemon trees, a music descends from the sunny terraces and the scent of the best italian cuisine. The Restaurant & Cafe I Limoni offer a relaxing corner in a vintage flavor with a touch of modern design. You can listen to selections of the best music of the past and present while enjoying the traditional tuscan dishes of fish and meat, or just a club sandwich of crispy fries. We are open from 11.30 am to 15.30 and 18.30 to re-open for drinks with dinner and to continue until after midnight with music and cocktails.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice break from Moroccan food, but not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

After one night in Marrakech, we were sick of the typical Moroccan meal so ate Italian almost for the rest of our trip in Morocco. Our first choice, Pepe Nero was closed on Monday's so we settled for I Limoni. We took a cab from the Mellah, we could have walked but it would probably take about 30 minutes.

The atmosphere was nice, we sat in the courtyard surrounded by lemon trees and there was a tranquil fountain in the middle. To start we had the grilled vegetables and omelet/quiche- finally some fresh vegetables that I had been craving! We shared the lemon chicken- I would skip this next time- chicken was kind of slimy and the lemon sauce was a bit strange. We also had the duck ragu with tagliatelle which was just pasta with meat sauce. Overall, I would say the meal was ok, it wasn't amazing and I am not sure I would want to eat it again. It was just a nice break from Moroccan food.

The waiter was overly annoying asking us for our order. It took us awhile to translate the French menu on our iTranslate app (thank goodness they had wi-fi!) The owners didn't pay any attention to us at all, rather I felt like they were pushing our server to be quicker with taking our order. The owners seemed more interested in the Italian party that was sitting next to us.

I would recommend I Limoni just to get away from Moroccan food, to have something fresh and of average quality to eat that you know is probably safe, but not to have something that is overly enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelforlifePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    232
    37
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, FL USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“creative twist on Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a fantastic meal at I Limoni. It was frustrating to find but then so are many other restaurants in the Old Town. After walking down a somewhat deserted alley, you enter through a low door and walk into a very eclectic atmosphere where the tables are in an open courtyard with real lemon trees. Recommend you take a taxi to save time and frustration.

I had linguine with Tomato and Basil. I use this dish I use as a measuring stick in my review of an Italian restaurant. It must be very simple yet delicious and it definitely was here. For main course I took a risk and ordered the Seppie with roasted peppers. I say risky because I have never seen these two ingredients combined before. The combo worked perfectly and the dish was delicious. My wife had the Tagliatelle with a ground duck ragu which was also very different but tasty. She had the lemon chicken which was very good but not great.

Another nice touch were two of the Italian owners who visited our table to make sure we were happy and welcomed our comments. The owners touch made this feel more Italian than another very good restaurant we dined in called Pepe Nero which lacked that. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernand755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“When you are tired of tagines.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

An interesting menu served quickly in an attractive courtyard setting makes for a very pleasant change from Moroccan fare. Mostly Italian, the menu is varied and both my friend and I enjoyed our meals very much. Prices are reasonable and the waiting staff attentive but not overly so. The decor is ecclectic and pleasing to relax in with four shady orange trees.. The owner came over to check everything was fine. A fine addition to the Marrakech restaurant scene. No alcohol but lovely fruit panaches.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shimmin2robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place in Marrakech?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This was top quality stuff. A lot of places say they cook Italian food in Marrakech but I doubt anywhere does it like here.

Fresh foccacia, hand made ravioli and gnocchi and carefully made delicious dishes all round. The antipasti was brilliant, and the dug ragu with tagliatelle was as good as you'll find anywhere in or outside of Italy. Service was friendly and attentive and the courtyard is picture perfect but with a bubbly atmosphere. Quiet, pretty and peaceful, right in the thick of the Northern part of the Medina. Prices were very reasonable given the standard of cooking - 200dh per person for shared starter and a main with non alcoholic drinks and tip.

Can't recommend enough - worth spending some time looking for, the only sign giving directions is on the wall of one of the main streets in the area. Good luck...

Helpful?
Thank Jonnyr86
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quirky with great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Well worth trying to find, this is a great little place. The decor and the food were quirky (the obligatory bread came in a cute paper bag rather than the usual dull basket) and the chips were hand made crisps. Quality was great too and a reasonable choice for my veggie friend... especially compared to other Moroccan restaurants. Like another reviewer, we stumbled upon this whilst trying to find our way back to our Riad from the Souks. It had a lovely colourful doorway, which is what attracted us to it.
Highly recommended anyway!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JellyCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Limoni also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to I Limoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing