We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing oasis in the heart of the city”
Review of Riad Matham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Matham
Ranked #29 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at Riad Matham. The rooms are spectacular and it's a tranquil escape from the busy markets. I'd recommend dinner here too - the food is authentic and great value. Booking a taxi transfer is recommended - it's a bit hidden away!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
There are newer reviews for Riad Matham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 659 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We love everything about Riad Matham. Its near souks and 10minutes walk from Dzama square. Riad is elegantly renovated with great sunroof terrace. Thierry is great and helpful host. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBaconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were so happy to have found this Riad, because it is really a special place. Recently renovated this is a true gem in the middle of the Medina. We booked the smallest and cheapest room and were very happy with it. We especially liked the creative decoration and our special entrance door! Breakfast was served in the awesome courtyard and was great. The owner was very friendly and helped us with our questions and provided us with a good map and tips for the area. The Riad is located next to the Marrakesh museum and the Djemaa el Fna can also easily be reached by foot. One evening we had time to experience a great sunset on the roof-top terrace. This should not be missed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Beautiful and tranquil. We spent some time having dinner and drinks at both La Mamounia and the Royal Mansour, which were lovely, but we would most certainly prefer to return and stay at Riad Matham. The staff were amazing, and we can't wait to go back. Thank you so much!

Thierry (the owner) took us to the most amazing rug shop, where we spent hours with them looking and deciding on which to purchaser...ultimately ended up with three! Go to Artisan du Sud (Draz), beautiful rugs both modern and antique.

For wonderful pashmina/silk scarfs go see our friends at Chez El Moutaousset just down the road from Artisan du Sud...go upstairs for both places!

Room Tip: With only six room, you can't go wrong. Each is unique and beautiful.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb027156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Thierry met us from our cab ride and led us through the winding streets of the Medina. Entering the Riad Matham is like finding an oasis in a dessert! The Riad is beautiful and so tastefully decorated (by Thierry himself); it was such a pleasure to stay there.

We had our first dinner at the Riad and enjoyed Fatima's cooking. It was excellent! It was a good way to get our peace and rest on our first night there. Would have loved to eat at the Riad every night but Marrakech has many tempting restaurants as well, restaurants that Thierry is happy to recommend and arrange for.

I love photographs so having the 360degree view of the Medina from the Riad rooftop was awesome! Watched the sunrise and sunset on the rooftop with a fantastic view!

On the whole, I would recommend a stay with Thierry anytime! Great place, great food, great staff, great location, and Thierry was great too! I fell in love with his bed cover which I tried to find on my own at the medina. After meeting with frustration, I asked him where he got his covers. He escorted me down to the shop and introduced me to the merchant. I got a good price for it and went home very happy. Still waiting for my pompoms though---because I waited till the last minute, I couldn't get exactly what I wanted but we found a way to make it all work out! I took my covers home and they will be posting me the pompoms!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnishball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Matham for five days earlier this month. It was my husband's special birthday so we wanted somewhere a bit special.

From the outset we were made very welcome with mint tea and pastries on arrival. Thierry, the owner, and Fatima were very friendly and even joined us on a night out at the end of the holiday. The atmosphere at the Riad was relaxed and homely and it felt like staying with family. My husband was even given a present on his birthday.

One of the highlights was the first evening when we ate at the Riad and were treated to unexpected entertainment thanks to Fatima! The food was really good.

Thierry was an excellent host and provided us with lots of useful information about the local amenities and arranged pick up and return to the airport for us.

The accommodation is excellent; clean, comfortable and cosy and the roof top terrace is great for relaxing as we'll as getting a birds eye view of the medina.

We would definitely recommend the Riad Matham for a visit to Marrakech. Thank you Thierry and Fatima.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this Riad for the best part of a week and each time we entered from the buzzing streets of Marrakech it was like stepping into a litte, relaxing different world. This Riad is a very nice place to retreat from the sometimes quite exhausting days such a city trip can provide. The staff was friendly and helpful. Apart from the manager, however the staff hardly speak english. This was never a problem though because with a little french and some body language we always got along fine and if some more detailed info was needed then the manager was always around to provide help in english.
The Riad has a generous rooftop terrace with places in the sun and in the shade. It also has a little pool in the small courtyard of the Riad. If I had one aspect to mention that was not ideal then it would be that the pool is on the groundfloor and doesn't really invite to just have a dip and then dry in the sun, because you have to walk up the 2 floors to get to the terrace. But this is being very picky and harsh...
The rooms are very clean, have a good size (even for familes with children) and a decorated tastefully - fitting to the whole ambience of the entire Riad.
The location of the Riad is pretty good. We saw a lot of the town during our stay and did everything by foot. Some of the main sites are very close by and the famous El Efna Square is aprox. 15-25 Minutes by foot, depending on how well you know your way around.
We were pleases that we decided to stay in the heart of the Medina and not outside in one of the newer parts ofth city.
For possibilities for food in this the area of the town are "ok". there are 2-3 places nearby and the food at the Riad itself is very, very good. We had dinner there a few times and when I read some critics regarding the price etc and can only shake my head. 16 €p.p was including starter, desert, main and water. as I mentioned we were there for one week and when we found places that were cheaper they simply were not as good.

I would really recommend this Riad and I would also recommend to get the transfer (airport/bus station etc) organized by the staff. If you want to do it yourself fine...but definately when trying to find the place for the first time you will wish you had someone picking you up. Without help it is very hard to find. People who know the streets of Marrakech wil know what I mean...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#42 of 1,160 in Marrakech
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Akal
Dar Akal
#21 of 1,160 in Marrakech
434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#14 of 1,160 in Marrakech
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Tizwa
Riad Tizwa
#159 of 502 in Marrakech
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Helen
Riad Helen
#44 of 1,160 in Marrakech
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#75 of 1,160 in Marrakech
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Matham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Matham

Address: 2 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Naceur | quartier Kaat ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $69 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matham Riad is an old mansion of the sixteenth century located in the historic district of the medina of Marrakech, close to the souks and the main museums of the city and 8 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna.Discover terrace and climb the tower you can admire certainly the most beautiful view of the medina and the calls of the muezzin at duskYou will also enjoy our Moroccan cuisine.Riad Matham offers body treatments and relaxation with its traditional hammam and swimming pool where you can relax on the way to walk in the souks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Matham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing