We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky style over content...”
Review of Le Bon Marche - CLOSED

Le Bon Marche
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Le Bon Marche est un representant de la "Bristonomie" francaise a Marrakech ayant de nombreuses empreintes en commun avec le sud-ouest de la France. Nous y proposons une carte de saison qui evolue tous les deux mois et une ardoise du jour composee grace au marche et au jardin. Nous avons un potager et un verger bio nous permettant de nous approvisionner en produits frais quand cela est possible. En cuisine, Max Ruquart propose des plats nes d'une inspiration venue tout droit de son experience, sa cuisine est simple et lisible mais moderne et creative. Il retranscrit son savoir-faire, dans une cuisine a la fois originale, rassurante, traditionnelle et innovatrice jouant simultanement sur les notes terrestres et marines. Loin des modes, toute en finesse, parfois decale, sa cuisine joue sur les contrastes, sucre - sale, chaud - froid, croustillant - moelleux. Le Bon Marche est dote d'une cave de plus de 50 vins et 15 champagnes differents a tous les prix de 140 dirhams a 35 000 dirhams la bouteille. L'ambiance y est calme le midi et en debut de soiree et festive le soir a partir de 23h. Il arrive que l'on y dance si l'ambiance s'y prete. Le restaurant offre trois espaces distincts, cosy au coin du feu, spacieux en salle, ou lumineux en terrasse... A votre guise, tous les jours sans exception, midi et soir.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Over priced French bistro where a third of the plates contain pate from force fed geese. Well presented but under portioned food delivered by attentive staff. However it was very popular for a Monday night so it must have attractions I cannot see. Unfortunately what I could see was a fug of high tar tobacco smoke emanating from a largely loud spoken and chain smoking French patrons. Ho-hum.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steveroygbiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbruere, Propriétaire at Le Bon Marche, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hello Sir,
I'm sorry to read your comment.
It seems obvious that the experience at le Bon Marché in April 2013 does not correspond to what one would expect from a good restaurant.

Since your message, Le Bon Marché has experience a lot of changes. The team has mostly been renewed, its new Chief Max Ruquart took over the kitchen, our prices went down, smoking is controlled and as you can see, comments on our business are improving. I hope that your comments will now reflect more the atmosphere of the restaurant. However, we remain vigilant in order not to give such a picture of our restaurant.

I will be delighted to contact you, if you want to share your experience with benefit me.

Sincerely,
Christian BRUERE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 118 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The place is nice , but the workers there have horrible attitude the r not polite horrible service I didn't feel comfortable eating there,wasn't good experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SaraCardeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbruere, Propriétaire at Le Bon Marche, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hello Madam,
I'm sorry to read your comment.
It seems obvious that the experience at le Bon Marché in March 2013 does not correspond to what one would expect from a good restaurant.

Since your message, Le Bon Marché has experience a lot of changes. The team has mostly been renewed, its new Chief Max Ruquart took over the kitchen, our prices went down and as you can see, comments on our business are improving. I hope that your comments will now reflect more the atmosphere of the restaurant. However, we remain vigilant in order not to give such a picture of our restaurant.

I will be delighted to contact you, if you want to share your experience with benefit me.

Sincerely,
Christian BRUERE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had dinner here for two consecutive evenings. First day - excellent and a reason to return. Second day, a total disappointment for both me and my wife. On both days we opted for the suggestions... In my case the 'blanquette de veau' was tough and tasteless and in the case of my wife asperges with a cold 'oeuf poché' and a tasteless tartare de saumon. Really regrettable. And please, write or print menu cards, the board is almost impossible to read even for the waiters.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jopavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbruere, Propriétaire at Le Bon Marche, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre visite, nous serons ravis de vous recevoir vous ou vos amis quand vous le souhaiterez.
Sachez que depuis votre message, le Bon Marché a connu des changements. L’équipe a pour la plupart été renouvelée, son gérant a changé, son nouveau Chef Max Ruquart a pris en charge la cuisine et les prix ont été revus à la baisse.

Très cordialement.
Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

When we arrived at this classy looking restaurant at 8.00 pm we were impressed by the chic ambience. Nice decor, welcoming staff. By 9.00 pm the place was packed but everyone seemed to be smoking and when the chap atthe next table lit up a cigar !! we had had enough.

A good evening spoiled by fug. The food was decent but overpriced.

Avoid unless you need smoke to enjoy food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StevieCCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbruere, Propriétaire at Le Bon Marche, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hello Sir,
I'm sorry to read your comment.
It seems obvious that the experience at le Bon Marché in February 2013 does not correspond to what one would expect from a good restaurant.

Since your message, Le Bon Marché has experience a lot of changes. The team has mostly been renewed, its new Chief Max Ruquart took over the kitchen, our prices went down, smoking is controlled and as you can see, comments on our business are improving. I hope that your comments will now reflect more the atmosphere of the restaurant. However, we remain vigilant in order not to give such a picture of our restaurant.

I will be delighted to contact you, if you want to share your experience with benefit me.

Sincerely,
Christian BRUERE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Since we live just down the street from this restaurant, we watched as the owners spent well over a year transforming an ordinary storefront into a modern bistro, with bar, terrace, fine wine cellar and service to match. Living here, we tire of Moroccan food. When we want a good steak, a nice glass of wine, properly prepared seafood and friendly and efficient service Le Bon Marche is now our restaurant of choice. Be sure to reserve a table as we are not alone in this assessment. My only suggestion is that the menu suggestions, shown on a blackboard, are not easy to read at night in the dim light, particularly if you have a large group table as we did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joyceheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbruere, Propriétaire at Le Bon Marche, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank-you very much for your visit, we will be more than happy to host again you anytime. Best regards, Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bon Marche also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing