We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sahara Palace Marrakech
Ranked #267 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The first thing that strikes you is the very impressive view you get as you are entering the grounds. It definitely gets the WOW factor. It is truly palatial in scope and grandeur and set with the backdrop of the Atlas mountains is just the icing on the cake.

Talking of cake, the breakfast is probably the best in a hotel we have had. A large selection of food and fruit, and fresh juices makes for a treat. It is rather expensive though, so I suggest you get this included within your rate; there are no other places in the vicinity to eat so you'll be stuck otherwise. We didn't have lunch or dinner at the hotel, as there is a free shuttle bus to the main square which takes about 40 minutes, and there are lots of places to eat there. Beware scam artists pretending to be Taj officials to show you around once you get off the bus though.

As for the hotel itself, it really is something you'll be talking about for a long time afterwards. My wife was quite impressed that it was where Sex and the City 2 was filmed, but I was more impressed with the spa and fitness facilities - the indoor heated swimming pool is fantastic (set within a lovely authentically decorated room), and we had a hamman which was excellent. It has a gym with a small collection of mainly cardio and strengthening equipment. Unfortunately the screen and music on the equipment didn't really work, and there were no free weights. There are 2 outdoor pools, one centre huge one, and another hidden away behind it; both were freezing and more for show than for use in my opinion. It was really good just to sunbathe next to the main one though.

The foyer and the lounge are incredible and you really get a good idea what royals must feel like. We loved the tea man who would pour Moroccan tea in most late afternoons (free service), and also sitting by the real fire reading felt really relaxing.

The rooms were huge. I understand they are all excellent. Ours had a massive balcony, a huge King size bed, and a great bathroom; lots of space really. This description really doesn't do it justice; it was the best room in a hotel we have stayed in.

This is one of a handful of Taj hotels we have stayed in and each one has been without fault in the service and friendliness. The staff will do anything for you and they are to be highly commended. It was just great to get away from the madness of the main square and not get hassled every other minute by people trying to sell you stuff.

Room Tip: We were in the Riad which was excellent. I understand all the rooms are brilliant so whichever you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjan187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Anjan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about your visit to Taj Palace Marrakech.

The team will be ever so encouraged by your lovely comments about the service and level of friendliness, which I assure you is genuine and a true reflection of Moroccan hospitality as a whole. Thank you also for your constructive feedback about our pool and gym facilities... we are always looking for ways we can improve our product and services, and comments such as yours highlight where we can do so.

We hope to welcome you back to Marrakech and the Taj in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    43
    19
    10
    12
See reviews for
51
116
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent two nights of our Marrakech stay in the Taj Palace. Althogether we felt extraordinary comfortable in our Palace Atlas Room. We wonderfully recovered enjoying our private terrace.
Although the temperature was over 40C the vast pool was absolutely clean and the water was lovely refreshing. A highlight was the midnight moonlight swimming.
The staff was very charming. They packed up our carpets that we bargained in the souks to a perfect "hand luggage" bundle.
I also warmly recommend the black soap treatment in the spa and the best Indian food in Morocco in the Mantra restaurant.

Room Tip: I personally prefer the Atlas view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mr. Daniel,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us at Taj Palace Marrakech!

We are so glad that you enjoyed the stunning Atlas views and even partook in a midnight swim, which I agree is a welcome respite from the soaring temperatures we experienced last week.

Do come visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Beautifully designed and built hotel resort just outside Marrakech. Newly opened. My daughter and I decided to drop in for a glass of champagne to check that it would be a suitably luxurious hotel for The Prof to enjoy and relax. We were greeted (out of our battered little car) should have arrived in the Bentley, despite our low key entrance Khalid was kind enough to show us the enormous resort, over 180 bedrooms and suites which surround a beautiful garden and large black tiled swimming pool. Each complex is designed like a typical Moroccan Riad - tranquil central garden with Palm trees, hibiscus, bougainvillaea, water features. The gardens are beautiful, frogs croaking under the lily pad in the ponds as the sun sets. Gentleman's club bar with pool table (shame the champagne was served in cheap glasses) two restaurants. Moroccan/Italian and Indian/Japanese. We decided to stay and eat, Japanese - Tappenyaki - attention to detail was excellent and five star service. The Prof would have liked the Royal suite with balcony overlooking The Atlas Mountains - Sex in the City was filmed here. We could just imagine the girls being amazed by the opulence of the crystal encrusted sari silk curtains flapping in the evening breeze. Yes I think The Prof would approve!
Sadly we could not stay, but will do next time....
I forgot to mention the Spa and Hammam - no expense spared in designing a luxurious experience!

Room Tip: The Royal Suite, sadly we could not stay but talking to other guests they were having a dream holida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissesN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Misses N,

You describe us as "a taste of India in Marrakech"... thank you, that is exactly what we are aspiring to. With our unique blend of Moroccan and Indian design and architecture, Taj Palace Marrakech fusions together in an explosion of colour and detail, a marriage that works surprisingly well.

We are so pleased that you and your daughter were able to visit and experience the magic for yourselves, even if just for one enchanted evening. Next time, we hope to welcome you for a few days in order to give due justice to our luxurious rooms and Spa (and for us to meet this all elusive 'Prof'!)

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in the last week of April. This was the first leg of our honeymoon ! The palace is far from the city, near the palmeraie area of Marrakech. There is nothing else close to the palace and hence it stands out and you can see the snowcapped Atlas mountains in the background !

The checkin was smooth, we waited in the lobby (which is simply amazing) and were served the awesome Moroccan Tea ! There is a person sitting in the lobby permanently to serve the tea to all arriving guests. We stayed in the atlas mountain facing rooms in the main palace (the other option you have is to stay in one of the four riads). The room was spacious, with a sit-out and day bed. The interiors of the room were just like you would expect in a palace, royal !

We had food mostly at mantra, which is the indian restaurant. Being vegetarians we had only limited options at most of the other restaurants. But, between some continental, italian and indian food we managed reasonably well.

We didn't try the spa but did give a visit there. The spa is huge, with space for the traditional hammam also. The staff is very warm and always there to help guests !

They also made a nice cake for us on one of the nights to celebrate our wedding. We were pleasantly surprised and it was a wonderful gesture from the entire team.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and the property is really beautiful. The interiors of the entire property are amazing and gives you that feeling of being in a Royal Palace !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SumitRungta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mr Sumit,

On behalf of the entire team at Taj Palace Marrakech, congratulations once again on your recent marriage, and we are truly honoured that you elected to celebrate such a special occasion with us. Thank you also for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow reviewers here on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback about our vegetarian food options. Given our links to India and the Taj chain, this is an area we do hope to improve upon and excel in. Our chefs are always more than happy to discuss dietary requirements and prefererences, and wherever possible, tailor make a special dish upon request.

Hopefully we may see you in one year for your first wedding anniversary?!

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited with work colleague this week and was blown away by this hotel. Architecture was amazing, room sizes are exceptionally generous with balcony and outside beds for when the heat becomes too much, food was five star and pool was to die for. Staff could not have been more professional and happy to help with the smallest details. Truly lives upto it's five star rating and would definitely recommended to anyone and a return trip is a must

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lucinda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Ms. Lucinda,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Taj Palace Marrakech, and thank you for taking the time to share your observations on Trip Advisor.

It is lovely to hear that you appreciated our friendly and professional team, and I'm sure your comments will encourage and motivate them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj again soon.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

There is no doubt that from the moment you arrive that you feel have arrived somewhere really special, the hotel and its decor is breathtaking and this includes the pool and gardens. Our room was beautiful and if you are looking for peace and quiet then this place is ideal. With regards to service I think it could be improved dramatically, I rang room/butler service for 20 minutes to try and get some milk but to no avail in the end I had to go back to reception to ask. The cocktails were expensive and dull, with no fruit or flavour in them. Pool service was good but breakfast service was erratic, no one told you what could be ordered fresh, you literally had to guess when you saw what other guests were getting. It would be easier if menus were on the table to order from, we ended up having the same omelette every morning as this was all that was offered even though on the last day we saw pancakes on the next table. The breakfast buffet however is fresh and tasty with a good selection of food to choose from. Another niggle included the fridge in my friends room did not work even though we told the staff it was never fixed. With tip top service this place would be hard to beat but come on Taj Palace do some customer service training and give all your guests the experience of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Ms. Karen,

Greetings from Taj Palace Marrakech, and thank you ever so much for taking the time to note your impressions about your stay with us.

As we discussed during your check out, without your valuable feedback, how can we ever expect to grow and develop as a hotel and service provider? We have taken on board your comments and shared them with the relevant departments so that we may take corrective action.

Despite our shortcomings during your visit, we do hope you may give us another chance and come stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Had a very nice weekend break here in March, the rooms were large and spacious and the hotel was very much a grandeur feel. it felt very clean and fresh. My only minor complaint was as the hotel is in the middle of no where , We were very limited on the food, although they have 2 restaurants the menus did not change 3 nights were enough here. i would go back but would want more choice on the menu or to at least change a couple of dishes each night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnicleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Guest Relations Manager at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us at Taj Palace Marrakech and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend break.

We appreciate your feedback about our dining options and restaurant menus, and are always looking for ways to improve our product and services in order to better serve our guests.

Please do join us again soon!

Kind regards,

Angela McGuire
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#71 of 500 in Marrakech
511 reviews
8.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
10.3 mi away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#46 of 500 in Marrakech
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
931 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ksar Char-Bagh
Ksar Char-Bagh
#103 of 500 in Marrakech
203 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#50 of 500 in Marrakech
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Palace Marrakech

Property: Sahara Palace Marrakech
Address: P.O Box 12440 | Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco (Formerly Blue Diamond Sahara Palace Marrakech)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Palace Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Sahara Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Sahara Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Marie Iod Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens. Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean and Indian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the warm and welcoming service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Marie Iod Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The spa experience includes dedicated massage therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, personalized coaching services and a full range of esthetic treatments. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sahara Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing