We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Dream Wedding Come True” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Palace Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sahara Palace Marrakech to your Saves list
Sahara Palace Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O Box 12440 | Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco (Formerly Blue Diamond Sahara Palace Marrakech)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #233 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Dream Wedding Come True”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had our wedding at the Taj Palace Marrakech and it was a dream come true.
We started planning our wedding back in January and had the wedding here in June this year (we are currently on our honeymoon and have wasted no time in writing this review as there is so much to say!).

We honestly can not express our gratitude to all the members of staff here at the Taj - their service, patience and willingness to help in every matter to do with our wedding really blew my husband and I away.

Our wedding was definitely not an easy event to cater for either, we had a full 3 day Indian wedding with 5 events and we occupied the whole hotel with our guests who had travelled from all over the world to be with us. The food was incredible for all 3 days (all our guests also confirmed this), the service exceeded all our expectations (especially as we knew it would be a tough few days which involved a lot of late nights for many members of staff) and the general manner of those who worked here was always highly hospitable, kind, caring and very sweet. My husband, myself and many of our guests felt more like family rather than regular guests after spending our time here.

To be completely transparent, we only had one issue which was the air conditioning that did not work in some of the rooms and event locations but I have to stress this was purely a technical issue. As this problem occurred during the wedding and there were a few frustrated guests (due to the very hot weather and mentioned technical issue) we can only say how proud and happy we were to hear that the Taj handled the situation with integrity and a willingness to compensate not just the guests that were directly affected but our entire wedding party.

In short it is safe to say we could not have wished for a better location to have our wedding nor could we have wished for better people to have shared it with - these being not just being our guests but also the members of staff at the Taj. They really all deserve praise for all their efforts during this time and they all contributed to making our days very special for us. Nothing was ever impossible and every request we had, regardless of whether they were big or small, was carried out with care and effort beyond the call of duty.

We would really like to thank Mr Dino (General Manager) and all his staff for his approach towards ourselves, family, guests and our event as well as Karim/Angela/ Abdul Rahman and their team, Kamil and his team, Hamza and his team for their dedication to running our events very smoothly. Also we would like to specially thank Nizar (guest relations) and Salma (reservations) who not only contributed to the success of our wedding but definitely for their support to us personally - they really have become great friends to us.

Without a doubt we will be back again to visit this incredibly beautiful hotel and we are very confident that they will welcome us back with open arms!
Thanks again to everyone at the Taj for making our wedding so special and giving us the days we will never forget.

All our love, Jay & Sherina x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    43
    19
    10
    12
See reviews for
50
116
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Taj Palace Marrakech a couple of weeks ago.I have to say it is a beautiful hotel. We stayed in a luxury suite, it was spotlessly clean, opulently furnished and a very comfy four poster bed. The bathrooms were beautiful with stacks of towels, Hermes toiletries,bath robes, slippers and a wonderful deep tub, plus a huge walk in shower. There was also a separate dressing room. Turn down service leave you gorgeous Moroccan cakes, wine, water and fresh fruit. The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough to make us comfortable, they are polite, helpful and make you feel at home. The decor although opulent is a bit of a mix..Indian/Moroccan, but beautiful just the same. I would highly recommend Taj Palace, and i am planning on returning one day soon..

Room Tip: Stay in the palace it's self..it is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagocity66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I also stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June 2013 and cannot say enough about the attentive staff and stunning decor, opulent and tasteful all at the same time. I am sorry that an earlier reviewer felt it necessary to highlight a minor maintenance issue which occurred in the breakfast room. This was of no inconvenience to anybody except the staff and we were touched to receive a hand written apology and box of pretty confectionaries from the hotel manager which were delivered to our room the same day. This was representative of the personal service received throughout our stay at this beautiful hotel and I have no hesitation in awarding it the highest rating. Thank you Taj staff for a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaskiaTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
We are delighted and honored you stayed at Taj Palace Marrakech and that we were able to provide you with a memorable stay. I am happy you enjoyed the location as well as the service. We will share your kind feedback with our team
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you when you are back to Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks ago and cannot recommend it highly enough, it is beautiful and tranquil and the staff are absolutely charming. The driveway up to the hotel is spectacular and the interior and grounds more than match your expectations.

Our Riad room was gorgeous, really spacious with a wonderful terrace and a superb bathroom and separate shower room, the staff kept the room immaculate and such was the attention to detail we always had little treats to come back to when we returned to it.

The hotel concierge service is excellent and the Complimentary shuttle service to the City is comfortable and reliable.

It was my birthday during our stay and the hotel made sure it was a day I will always remember, it was altogether a very memorable trip, beautiful surroundings and impeccable service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alysonsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Google Translation
Cher(e) Client(e)

Nos sincères remerciements pour avoir prit le temps d’écrire un commentaire aussi élogieux sur le Taj Palace Marrakech.
Nous espérons vous recevoir très prochainement et vous faire vivre une expérience tout aussi mémorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

To begin with I will say that this is a jaw-dropping, breathtaking, gorgeous hotel. It is like a mini Taj Mahal, crammed with treasures and beauty. For example The lobby is groced with a 40m high venetian chandelier, under a bejewelled, domed ceiling. The pool is a mammoth 40m x 40m, practically an inland sea with a temple island in the middle. The rooms, even the standard ones, are also beautiful and huge, a fusion of Moroccan and Indian design done with such taste. Even more amazingly we had the place almost to ourselves - bookings must be slow in June - so our whole stay felt like we had crept into a deserted palace, a mirage in the desert.

Churlishly though, I do feel the need to mention one or two drawbacks. Nothing terrible but points you should know if you are thinking of staying here. First it is quite a long way out of Marrakesh, around 10 miles. There is a shuttle bus into the city but only four times a day. Otherwise it is a 200 dirham (around £16.50) taxi, which can get expensive. If you want the full-on Marrakesh Riad experience, this hotel is not for you. Second, this is a new hotel so there are still some snagging issues. One morning at breakfast a radiator exploded, showering the room with black water. And the service is friendliness itself but slightly haphazard. We booked an early taxi one morning only to find it didn't come. Finally the food is decent, but not as spectacular as the surroundings - apart from the prices. We had considerably better in the town for a lot less.

Overall this is an awesome hotel, but if I had the choice I would give it four and a half stars rather than the full complement.

Room Tip: Noth facing rooms are cooler in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meansuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor.
We are delighted and honored you stayed at Taj Palace Marrakech.
Thank you very much for your comment . We have reviewed your points and will make the necessary changes to continuously improve the overall guest experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for a new experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Taj Palace for a wedding anniversary weekend. Despite the fact that we stayed in the 'cheaper' Riad garden rooms we were not disappointed - having stayed in some plush hotels around the world this hotel was exceptional - plush , opulent , luxurious , it made our experiences in Dubai look downmarket ! Our room had a wonderful balcony with a huge daybed, luxurious bathroom , dressing area and the most comfortable suite. The pool was one of the biggest we have ever seen, good choice of restaurants and a fantastic cocktail bar with a pool table. Breakfast was a little limited and service sometimes a little slow but the exceptional hotel, friendly staff and location more than made up for what appeared to be some teething problems with staff training. Nine of this detracted from our weekend at all. Complimentary shuttles into Marrakech were great although it was hard to tear yourself away from this truly moroccan palace.

Room Tip: The garden rooms in the Riad are esceptional, quiet, luxurious, opulent, romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamsFamily51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us.
We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed our resort we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
We are looking forward to welcome you at Taj Palace Marrakech for a new and great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle england
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 300, on the first floor of one of the four Riads. This was a standard room, and comprised a terrace with chairs and a day bed, a lobby, a very large bedroom and a dressing room, shower room, toilet and a large bathroom. All very nicely done in a Morrocoan/Indian style. We had a Moroccan Hammam in the spa, and tried all the restaurants. The Pan Asian one was excellent. There is a free shuttle bus, several times a day to the city, as this hotel is a long way out. The swimming pool is HUGE, 40m x 40m, and it is very refreshing on a hot day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank upperdeckplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajPalaceMarrakech, Directeur général at Sahara Palace Marrakech, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,

Nous vous remercions tout d’abord d’avoir choisi le Taj Palace Marrakech pour votre séjour.
Nous sommes ravis de lire que ces moments passés parmi nous ont été de ceux qui comptent. Sachez que vos chaleureux commentaires concernant notre établissement ont été partagés avec l’ensemble des personnes ayant contribué au succès de votre séjour, et que chacun en fut sincèrement touché.

Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir très prochainement au Taj Palace Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#55 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
4.9 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#74 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
10.4 mi away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#81 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 938 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#101 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
14.5 mi away
Beachcomber Royal Palm Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Palace Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Palace Marrakech

Property: Sahara Palace Marrakech
Address: P.O Box 12440 | Annakhil, Palmeraie, Marrakech 40016, Morocco (Formerly Blue Diamond Sahara Palace Marrakech)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Palace Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled between the soothing Palmeraie landscape of palm and olive trees and the awe-inspiring Atlas Mountains, Sahara Palace Marrakech has been meticulously crafted with a vivid blend of Moroccan, Indian and Moorish themes that unfold from a magnificent Palace block to the four exclusive and expansive Riads. With its five glorious alabaster-white domes resting atop the luxuriant main building, the Sahara Palace Marrakech is regal and resplendent in this breathtaking Moroccan landscape. The hotel unfolds like a beautiful painting from galleries of hand painted frescoed wood ceilings and ornaments, restaurants of rich colours and texture, to the serenity and calmness of the Marie Iod Spa. The high vaulted lobby, highlighted by a sparkling 22 meter chandelier centerpiece and three kilometers of gold leaf adorning various ceilings, cornices, furniture and ornaments, makes this a truly royal experience. This palatial desert oasis features 161 well-appointed, spacious guest rooms, including 25 luxurious suites, spread between the magnificent main Palace and four exclusive Riads. All rooms and suites enjoy stunning views over the Atlas Mountains, the Palmeraie desert landscape or the calming pool and gardens. Our celebrated chefs have gathered the finest ingredients that span the Moroccan, Mediterranean and Indian in one unique destination. Our guests can wine and dine in some of the most stylish and charismatic restaurants and bars in Marrakech, whilst the warm and welcoming service makes every moment memorable. The hotel houses the renowned Marie Iod Spa spread across 3,800 square meters with 14 treatment rooms & two extensive hammams in line with the Moroccan tradition. The spa experience includes dedicated massage therapies, signature Moroccan experiences, personalized coaching services and a full range of esthetic treatments. The Yoga Temple further enhances the overall experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sahara Palace Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing