We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top top Riad!”
Review of Riad Abaca Badra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Abaca Badra
Ranked #8 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We originally planned to stay here for one night but liked the place so much we booked in again when we came back to Marrakech.

Our hosts Gilles and Dominique were really friendly and had lovely homemade treats for us - it helped that my travelling companion spoke French though!

It's about 10 minutes walk (direct) to the main square, but much more fun to get lost and wonder around. It's also conveniently close to the main bus station to get out and about in Morocco.

Lovely rooms, fantastically decorated and a rooftop terrace to die for with tables, sun loungers and a covered seating area.

Would definitely recommend this place to others!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyJoJoJnrJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 693 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

We discovered the Riad by chance walking by the Medina in need of an extra night in Marrakech, and we were delighted! Very friendly and helpful hosts, impeccable room, charming patio, very centrally located, for a very competitive price. And since we needed to leave for the Airport early in the morning, we even got breakfast served at 3.30 am - we did not expect so much! - and a reliable lift to the airport arranged for us. We are very grateful to the hosts for the treat, the local tips and the good atmosphere. Strongly recommended for better planners than we are!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked this Riad originally for 5 nights on a friend's recommendation no problem by e-mail. The owners Dominique and Gilles, a French couple, arranged a very inexpensive pick-up for us from the airport. The Riad is located very conveniently in a quiet side alley from a very busy and happening part of the Medina, very picturesque and local indeed.

Once arrived, Gilles greeted us with Moroccan tea and cookies making us feel right at home. That night, we ate a fantastic home cooked dinner at the Riad made by a superb Moroccan cook, who exclusively works for Gilles & Dominique. The food was incredible and included starters, made course, wine, dessert, etc! The dinner was free for us because we booked a 5-night stay, otherwise it would have been for pay at a reasonable price.

The Riad only has 4 guest rooms, so the atmosphere is very intimate and relaxed. The owners both live in a room on the base floor. The rooms are great and come with shower gel, shampoo, body lotion, towels, fruit basket etc. Wifi internet is available in the entire house. A really nice rooftop deck makes for a great spot for sunbathing, reading, or enjoying a small whirlpool in the midst of the Medina.

But by far the best about this Riad are the owners themselves. Gilles made breakfast consisting of home made bread, cake, Moroccon pancakes, eggs, tea, coffee, juice and jams every morning at whatever time we would request - no matter if 4am or 12pm! Gilles and Dominique booked restaurants for us - even though we made them go through the trouble of cancelling them later on several times!! - showed us what places to see; Gilles even bought some Moroccan tea for us on our departure day because we ran out of time to do so by ourselves!

We also left the Riad to go to Essaouira by the coast. While in Essaouira, we decided to extend our seaside stay from 1 to 2 nights on very short notice, and even this was no problem for Gilles & Dominique. In fact, because they had been so incredibly nice and helpful to us the entire time, we wanted to pay for the one night we cancelled on them on short notice (during high season!), but Gilles refused to let us pay for it! When we managed to at least tipp a generous amount extra, he put the money in the jar for his staff (cleaning lady, cook, drivers, etc.).

Overall, our stay in this Riad was absolutely amazing! Unfortunately, we did not speak French well, but Gilles & Dominique compensated for it, so we could converse in basic English.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShuOnKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We only spent one night at Riad Abaca Badra but the experience was simply amazing.
The riad is very well located (some 10 minutes walking from the Djemaa El Fna's square) and the premises are extraordinary: spacious, clean and superb rooms, great terrace, magical athmosphere and exceptional patio.
We have been spoiled by the hosts (Gilles and Dominique) with a great breakfast, an unforgettable maroccan dinner and a constant assistance and support. The perfect oasis after several hours of walking in the busy Marrakech. Do not miss it!

Room Tip: For an extra cost, select the suite rooms and try their typical maroccan dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dantre63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Marrakech at Abaca Badra.

What a friendly and welcoming riad!

Gilles, the owner, organised our transfer from the airport and welcomed us with some mint tea (moroccan whisky!!) and a smile, plus lots of recommendations and dos and don'ts. Since we had never visited Marrakech before, but had heard a range of stories from other visitors, this was helpful and made us feel more confident to go out and explore the city.

The riad's location is ideal: close enough to the square to be near the action, but accessible without going through narrow streets too late at night. Gilles or Dominique are always there to welcome you in or help you out. In fact, it feels more like staying with a family friend.

We stayed in the famed "dark ground floor room" but apart from maybe the lack of sound proofing, it was a lovely little room. To be honest, we were only in our room to sleep anyway! Note to young couples: there is no bathroom door - only a curtain!

Like everything else in the riad, breakfast was thoughtful and adapted to each individual. You could eat at any time you liked, which was a definite bonus.

The only negative was that the call to prayer was VERY loud during the night, but this is to be expected when visiting Muslim countries.

All in all, a lovely property, not too hard to find, made special by attentive and caring owners. I would recommend it to anyone, especially those looking for a tranquil haven from which to escape the hustle and bustle of the medina.

We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thriftystudent89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from, in effect, two stays there. (4 nights, then 3 in the mountains, then back for our last night.) Gilles and Dominique really made us feel at home. The rooms are nice- arranged around a central courtyard as is the case in nice Arab town-houses. There is a roof terrace, which is not overlooked, and plenty of space in other parts of the house to sit in, outside of one's room. It is in the old city and yet quiet, as there isn't much traffic. Everything of interest is no more than 10 minutes or so away on foot. There are lots of little shops in the immediate vicinity if you need toothpaste or anything else you have forgotten.
We had two meals there, done by one of the staff, and they were the nicest of any we ate in the Medina.
Gilles is a hero! He not only sorted us out with a hire car for our trip to Essouira, but drove us himself out of the city gate, and when we came back, collected us so we didn't have the difficulty of trying to drive through the narrow streets to the Riad. That's SERVICE!
Just remember, please, that Riads are, indeed, converted town houses so please don't go there expecting to be in a Holiday Inn or Four Seasons: they are not those sort of places. You will also hear the call to prayer, which is a bit intrusive, but in a Muslim country you will hear it everywhere.
When we return to Marrakech, we will not be looking for anywhere else to stay.

One Tip- there are Riads with a similar name, so make sure you have the spelling correct, or, like me, you might start off at the wrong Riad!

Room Tip: All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CW_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Awesome place and very frielndly and funny staff. Relaxing atmosphere and great rooms with a fantastic breakfast. Just when the streets of Marrakesh tire you out, you have a relaxing place like this one to retreat to.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich-Lee-Rewarded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 500 in Marrakech
1,062 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,193 in Marrakech
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#3 of 1,193 in Marrakech
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#10 of 1,193 in Marrakech
310 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#9 of 1,193 in Marrakech
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#28 of 1,193 in Marrakech
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Abaca Badra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaca Badra

Address: 203 Arset Azoual | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $68 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Abaca Badra 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad has 5 rooms for 2 to 4 people, they are air conditioned. They all feature a sitting area, a private bathroom, storage cabinets, a safe. Towels, hair dryer, shower gel, shampoo and body lotion are available to you. The wi-fi is available throughout the riad and a computer station is available. The riad owners resident on site, they can help you in the choice of sightseeing or activities: excursions, sport and physical activities, exploring Marrakech ... All these activities have been tested and validated by your hosts. We strive for here, you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Abaca Badra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing