We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The paradise at affordable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abaca Badra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Abaca Badra
Ranked #5 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
“The paradise at affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We only spent one night at Riad Abaca Badra but the experience was simply amazing.
The riad is very well located (some 10 minutes walking from the Djemaa El Fna's square) and the premises are extraordinary: spacious, clean and superb rooms, great terrace, magical athmosphere and exceptional patio.
We have been spoiled by the hosts (Gilles and Dominique) with a great breakfast, an unforgettable maroccan dinner and a constant assistance and support. The perfect oasis after several hours of walking in the busy Marrakech. Do not miss it!

Room Tip: For an extra cost, select the suite rooms and try their typical maroccan dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dantre63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
286
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Marrakech at Abaca Badra.

What a friendly and welcoming riad!

Gilles, the owner, organised our transfer from the airport and welcomed us with some mint tea (moroccan whisky!!) and a smile, plus lots of recommendations and dos and don'ts. Since we had never visited Marrakech before, but had heard a range of stories from other visitors, this was helpful and made us feel more confident to go out and explore the city.

The riad's location is ideal: close enough to the square to be near the action, but accessible without going through narrow streets too late at night. Gilles or Dominique are always there to welcome you in or help you out. In fact, it feels more like staying with a family friend.

We stayed in the famed "dark ground floor room" but apart from maybe the lack of sound proofing, it was a lovely little room. To be honest, we were only in our room to sleep anyway! Note to young couples: there is no bathroom door - only a curtain!

Like everything else in the riad, breakfast was thoughtful and adapted to each individual. You could eat at any time you liked, which was a definite bonus.

The only negative was that the call to prayer was VERY loud during the night, but this is to be expected when visiting Muslim countries.

All in all, a lovely property, not too hard to find, made special by attentive and caring owners. I would recommend it to anyone, especially those looking for a tranquil haven from which to escape the hustle and bustle of the medina.

We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thriftystudent89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from, in effect, two stays there. (4 nights, then 3 in the mountains, then back for our last night.) Gilles and Dominique really made us feel at home. The rooms are nice- arranged around a central courtyard as is the case in nice Arab town-houses. There is a roof terrace, which is not overlooked, and plenty of space in other parts of the house to sit in, outside of one's room. It is in the old city and yet quiet, as there isn't much traffic. Everything of interest is no more than 10 minutes or so away on foot. There are lots of little shops in the immediate vicinity if you need toothpaste or anything else you have forgotten.
We had two meals there, done by one of the staff, and they were the nicest of any we ate in the Medina.
Gilles is a hero! He not only sorted us out with a hire car for our trip to Essouira, but drove us himself out of the city gate, and when we came back, collected us so we didn't have the difficulty of trying to drive through the narrow streets to the Riad. That's SERVICE!
Just remember, please, that Riads are, indeed, converted town houses so please don't go there expecting to be in a Holiday Inn or Four Seasons: they are not those sort of places. You will also hear the call to prayer, which is a bit intrusive, but in a Muslim country you will hear it everywhere.
When we return to Marrakech, we will not be looking for anywhere else to stay.

One Tip- there are Riads with a similar name, so make sure you have the spelling correct, or, like me, you might start off at the wrong Riad!

Room Tip: All are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CW_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Awesome place and very frielndly and funny staff. Relaxing atmosphere and great rooms with a fantastic breakfast. Just when the streets of Marrakesh tire you out, you have a relaxing place like this one to retreat to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich-Lee-Rewarded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Riad Abaca Badra is a great place to stay. It is located on a quiet street less than ten minutes walk from Jama el Fnaa, which is ideal. The riad is elegant and traditional, with spacious, comfortable rooms; it is also clean and very secure. The hosts Gilles and Dominique are welcoming and helpful, and always happy to provide Moroccan mint tea and sweets by way of refreshment. The breakfast (provided at whatever hour you want) includes cactus honey, freshly pressed orange juice and french coffee. Abaca Badra succeeds in combining the intimacy and authenticity of a proper riad with a very high and personal standard of service. If you are going to stay in Marakesh I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just returned from four lovely nights at Riad Abaca Badra. The riad is quite small and so feels very personal. We were very wonderfully looked after by Gilles who was always available with advice or a recommendation for dinner. He provided a delicious breakfast every morning at any time we chose, so we were able to sleep late, and he also provided mint tea and little Morrocan gateaux (my favourite) whenever requested.

I really loved our room (a suite on the upper floor). It had an excellent hot shower, plenty of space, and was cleaned every day. On our first day the bed was sprinkled with petals, and there were fresh flowers in a vase. What a treat!

Finally, the location of the riad was excellent, within an easy walk of the main square but in a slightly quieter area.

The roof terrace is lovely and comes with sunbeds, towels and sunhats provided. The only slight disappointment for me was that the hot tub was not working, but I know that they are trying to get it fixed.

To conclude, Gilles consistently went the 'extra mile' to make sure we had a good stay, including accompanying me to the patesserie to buy gateaux at locals' prices, and so thanks to him and the comfort of the riad we really did have the most relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The cheapest room (on the ground floor) looked a little dark - I would recommend paying the little e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

cactus honey, self made jam and fresh croissants as well as typical moroccan bread for breakfast - the french owners really try their best to make you feel welcome and take care of all the small details.

We arrived at 7 o'clock in the morning in Marrakech after getting of a nightbus having no reservation and just knocked at the door of the riad trying to find a place for a night. The owner welcomed us very friendly, even though it was so early and let us settle down in all tranquility. After a short nap it was time to get something to eat and the owner recommend a wonderful seafood restaurant in the new part of town.
if you have any sorts of questions or request, don't hesitate to ask them, they always offer really friendly and great advice, they know where to go to a good Hammam, lunch, dinner and can also offer you a bottle of wine from their fridge.
In the morning, before we checked out, they even heated up the rooftop yacuzzi for us (which you need to ask for well in advance, because it heats up extremly slow).

I would stay here anytime again and can only recommend this place!

The only doubt I would have about is that it is not really soundproof, but most of the guesthouses/hostels/riads I have been to in Marrakech aren't. This however was not any issue for us, since we were the only guests at the time, so I don't know what it's like when the place is full.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaolDuke71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#8 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#9 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#7 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Abaca Badra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaca Badra

Property: Riad Abaca Badra
Address: 203 Arset Azoual, | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing