We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“2nd time in this fabulous riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Kalinka Lotus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Kalinka Lotus
Ranked #370 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd time in this fabulous riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Based on our tremendous experience the first time in this riad, we decided to book again for another week during our next vacation. As expected, Abdellatif the host and the riad were fabulous and made our stay extremely wonderful. Abdellatif made us dinner (tangine!) even when our flight into Marrakech arrived after 11 pm at night. He also put us in touch with a trekking agency for us to climb Mt Toubkal, and kept checking back with us before we arrived if our coordination with that trekking agency was going well. I will stay with Abdellatif and his riad 100% on our next visits, and can unequivocally recommend him and his riad. Furthermore, after our return from the trek, we were unable to stay at his place for 2 nights (my mistake). Abdellatif ensured we had another great riad to stay at. I didn't even ask where this place was. I just left it all to Abdellatif. Again, the other riad was spectacular, and even closer to Djemma El Fna.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Our stay at the Riad was fantastic. Abdellatif and the staff were fantastic hosts and went well above and beyond to make us feel at home - they were especially good with all the young children. The Riad looked even better than in the photos and was perfect for our group of 6 adults and 3 young children. The location is in a quiet and safe part of the Medina a 15min walk from the main square.

We ate at the Riad almost every night and the home cooked meals were great - the whole group enjoyed every meal! Abdellatif also organised several very good excursions for us and got a baby sitter at very short notice one evening. Overall it was a wonderful stay for all of us!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodtwin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Kalinka Lotus for our 5 night break in Marrakech. This Riad is a wonderfully restored example and is decorated to a high standard throughout – we had originally booked the Junior suite, but on arrival Abdellatif upgraded us to the Deluxe Suite for no extra charge. The room was spacious with a large bathroom and was very comfortable.


Abdellatif arranges airport transfers to the Riad and I thoroughly recommend this service as the Medina is a maze of tiny streets which can be very confusing to new arrivals.
Despite the busy city just outside the front door, the Riad is incredibly quiet and a relaxing place to stay after a long day of exploring. There are large communal areas on the ground floor by the pool as well as a fantastic roof terrace – perfect for relaxing in the sun.

The main highlight of this Riad is the staff – Abdellatif was very welcoming and offered plenty of advice on places to visit (with his hand drawn map you can easily explore the city without getting lost!). He also arranged a day trip to the Atlas Mountains with his private driver, Ismail. This was very well priced and allowed us to explore outside of the City.

Latifa made us breakfast each morning, cooked a delicious Moroccan dinner one evening (which could have fed 6 people!) and kept the Riad clean each day. She brought mint tea and coffee while we were relaxing in the Riad and made us feel very comfortable.

Overall, we had a perfect 5 day stay in Marrakech and this Riad was the main reason for that – it feels far more comfortable and relaxed than a hotel while giving an authentic Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_J_L_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ended up staying in Kalinka Lotus for 4 nights. We booked the smallest room, but before we arrived we were already upgraded to a junior suite, because the Riad was empty and the manager Abdellatif "could spare the room". Great service.

The room was great and the other rooms also looked very good. The Riad has been renovated recently and is decorated elegantly. It is in a traditional Moroccon style but doesn't have the over the top decorations you see in some Riads. The common areas were very comfortable and spacious. The roof terrace is amazing and is a great place to enjoy the tasty breakfast the Riad serves every morning.

The best thing about the Riad was the staff. The manager Abdellatif was a great host and he made sure you were always comfortable. Truly 5 star service. At the end of our trip my girlfriend became ill and we decide not to fly at the last minute. We called Abdellatif to ask him to pick us up again at the airport to stay another night in the rias. Within 30 minutes his driver Ismail was there and brought us back. The cleaning lady and cook even prepared a special tea for my girlfriend's upset stomach. And Abdellatif cooked a tajine for us himself that evening.

The only negative point I can think of was that the cleaning was sloppy on 1 or 2 occasions. But that was solved immediately after we mentioned it.

All in all one of the best hotel experiences we ever had. A big recommendation for anyone staying in Marrakech.

Room Tip: The junior suite has a window next to a mosque, but if you can't stand that, you shouldn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maartennp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We (10 female students from Switzerland) have chosen the Riad Kalinka Lotus as our accommodation for a study trip to Marrakech and we never regreded our choice. For us, it was not just an accommodation, it was like a cozy home abroad. We were spoilt by Abdellatif and his lovely staff and they made our whole stay unforgettable.
The whole Riad is lovely decorated and clean and during leisure time, we enjoyed the roof terrace and the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricarda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned to England after the best holiday we have ever had!!! Everything on our holiday was fantastic and The Riad Kalinka Lotus was no exception. A original riad, beautifully furnished, comfortable, spacious and bright. We arrived as clients and left as friends although we were only there for two nights. Abdellatif, the owner, is the perfect host, it felt as if he had welcomed us into his home. The riad is spotlessly clean and has a fantastic roof terrace. Breakfast is great with no real specified time, so very relaxing. It's very well situated for the souks and the famous Jemma El Fna and with the hand drawn map from Abdellatif it's impossible to get lost....honest. Abdellatif also has a wicked sense of humour, a great find in a foriegn land. Thanks Abdellatif, WE SHALL RETURN!!!!! Incha Alla

Room Tip: No need. They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Location

Location of the riad is ideal and very easy to find. It is in a reasonalbly quiet and very safe area with local shops and a pharmacy nearby. The walk to Jemaa El Fnaa is very straightforward and simple without having to walk through small awkward or unsafe alleys unlike many other riads in Marrakech.

The Riad

The riad itself is very beautifully decorated and warm with a lounge on both the ground and first floor. The riad also has a very spacious terrace. It is extremely clean and pleasant.

We were at ease leaving our belongings in the riad and Abdullatif also provided us with a safe even though we felt we did not need it.

There are showers in every room, although hot water was not always available or the water temperature would drop after a couple of minutes. I mentioned this to Abdullatif and he eventually made amends. Abdullatif was always concerned about our comfort and did his best to make our stay in Marrakech a pleasure.

Food

Sameera was an excellent and very helpful cook who, along with Hind, always took food upto the terrace for us to have breakfast in the beautiful sunshine.

The Manager Abdullatif

Abdullatif was very welcoming and helpful and provided us with more than what we had paid for or anticipated. He was more a friend than a manager of the riad and was always willing to help out in any way he could. Reliable and trustworthy, you can depend on him to give you good advice.

Sameera and Hind

Sameera and Hind were always helpful and polite. Both had a very calm and respectful approach. They cleaned all the rooms after we went out for the day and we did not need to worry about our belongings. When we returned everything would be spotless clean.

Transport

Abdullatif had arranged with his friend Ismail, a taxi driver, to take us to Ourika Valley and other places. Ismail was extremely friendly, good natured and patient. He doesn't speak English but we were able to communicate with him in Arabic. You can ask Abdullatif to explain to him in advance if you wish. Ismail is definitely an added bonus to Riad Kalinka Lotus.

Overall the riad, its location, food, service and transport is excellent and I would definitely recommend the riad without the slightest hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#146 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
5.1 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#97 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#143 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kalinka Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalinka Lotus

Property: Riad Kalinka Lotus
Address: 25 Derb El Makina, Arset Bel Baraka | Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Kalinka Lotus 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Riad in Marrakech with a very good location, since Riad enjoys a wonderful and unique location in less than 10 minutes from the famous Djemaa el Fna. With private parking. Nestled in a quiet little street together: the charm of a traditional Riad and comfort of a house of modern design. The entire riad is yours to rent. The Riad has 5 luxurious rooms and suites, all decorated with bathrooms (Gel, Shampoing and Soap...), air conditioning, a lounge bar, several lounges, dining room, WIFI connection, TV / DVD. the Riad can organize excursions, airport transfers, guided visites for Marrakech and Souks, Excursions... The Riad offers also the possibility to have meals like dinner or Lunch and of course breakfasts, our cook can propose also Cooking class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Kalinka Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing