We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Whole Riad March/April 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalinka Lotus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Kalinka Lotus
Ranked #347 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whole Riad March/April 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Location

Location of the riad is ideal and very easy to find. It is in a reasonalbly quiet and very safe area with local shops and a pharmacy nearby. The walk to Jemaa El Fnaa is very straightforward and simple without having to walk through small awkward or unsafe alleys unlike many other riads in Marrakech.

The Riad

The riad itself is very beautifully decorated and warm with a lounge on both the ground and first floor. The riad also has a very spacious terrace. It is extremely clean and pleasant.

We were at ease leaving our belongings in the riad and Abdullatif also provided us with a safe even though we felt we did not need it.

There are showers in every room, although hot water was not always available or the water temperature would drop after a couple of minutes. I mentioned this to Abdullatif and he eventually made amends. Abdullatif was always concerned about our comfort and did his best to make our stay in Marrakech a pleasure.

Food

Sameera was an excellent and very helpful cook who, along with Hind, always took food upto the terrace for us to have breakfast in the beautiful sunshine.

The Manager Abdullatif

Abdullatif was very welcoming and helpful and provided us with more than what we had paid for or anticipated. He was more a friend than a manager of the riad and was always willing to help out in any way he could. Reliable and trustworthy, you can depend on him to give you good advice.

Sameera and Hind

Sameera and Hind were always helpful and polite. Both had a very calm and respectful approach. They cleaned all the rooms after we went out for the day and we did not need to worry about our belongings. When we returned everything would be spotless clean.

Transport

Abdullatif had arranged with his friend Ismail, a taxi driver, to take us to Ourika Valley and other places. Ismail was extremely friendly, good natured and patient. He doesn't speak English but we were able to communicate with him in Arabic. You can ask Abdullatif to explain to him in advance if you wish. Ismail is definitely an added bonus to Riad Kalinka Lotus.

Overall the riad, its location, food, service and transport is excellent and I would definitely recommend the riad without the slightest hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Absolutely loved the riad and the service was first rate. The riad was clean, quiet, and beautifully furnished with loads of traditional details that really made it feel lush. Abdellatif was a perfect host. He arranged transport, booked a gorgeous traditional restaurant, provided a hand-draw map as well as a city map and brochure. He also answered all our daft questions and always assisted us in any way he could. Samera was in charge of housekeeping and meals, and she was a star. Our rooms were always tidied and the breakfasts were gorgeous. The evening meal on arrival and the impromptu lunch on the last day were fantastic. The Riad Kalinka Lotus really made our short break perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3-m-babes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

When as 4 ladies we arrived at the Riad quite late in the evening we were a little apprehensive as it seemed to be in a very run down back alley but as soon as we entered the Riad and were welcomed by Abdellatif and Sammera were immediately at ease and felt very safe. The Riad is beautifully furnished and each room we went into there were gasps of.... Oh isn't this beautiful , I want one !!! If only we had enough room to pack all we wanted to buy. Abdellatif organised trips for us, booked restaurants , organised transport ,drew maps so we could find our way , told us where was safe to go for 4 women and answered any questions we had. He couldn't have been more helpful or kind,he even shared his cigarettes with my friend who claims she doesn't smoke !! In daylight the location was fine and the narrow streets were interesting not intimidating and certainly very safe even late at night. The people in the adjoining buildings were friendly especially the beautiful children . Samerra was the icing on the cake we were thoroughly spoilt , nothing was too much trouble and always with an amazing smile. Each morning she made breakfast for us which we ate by the inside pool , relaxed and planned our day . We sunbathed on the amazing terrace and Sammera made sure we had confortable sunbeds complete with hats etc . even water and snacks were brought up for us even though we didn't request them. I have stayed in many different standards of hotels but have to say the bed I had in the Riad was probably the most comfortable ever. Sammera rushed off to the market on our last day to buy fresh produce to make us a meal even though it was very short notice and what she prepared was delicious . We all agreed we should have taken more meals in the Riad if this was what you could expect .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Welshlady046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stunning Riad with modern amenities, 5 gorgeous en suite rooms with two traditional living rooms. Very comfortable and clean. Great location for privacy and peace. Excellent staff who are more than happy to help.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice traditional decor, clean and quiet. Our host Abdellatif and staff Samurra were very friendly and most helpful. Continental breakfast included. By booking ahead, you can enjoy a delicious traditional Moroccan meal in residence however the proportion was a bit short. Further away from the square than we expected - 20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaying_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very clean at all times, beautiful setting on third floor, best to enjoy on sun bed on hot afternoons! ... Near the main markets and town centres, shops all near by, everything was convenient. Definitely recommended at all times!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidayfu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had booked this for the family and we were greeted with snacks and teas. We stayed for 7 days. The breakfast was awesome. Not just a Moroccan breakfast but eggs and croissants etc. we were very well looked after and the parking right in front of the door was ideal. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmmarLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#108 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
2.2 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#269 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
11.1 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kalinka Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalinka Lotus

Property: Riad Kalinka Lotus
Address: 25 Derb El Makina, Arset Bel Baraka | Marrakech médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Riad in Marrakech with a very good location, since Riad enjoys a wonderful and unique location in less than 10 minutes from the famous Djemaa el Fna. With private parking. Nestled in a quiet little street together: the charm of a traditional Riad and comfort of a house of modern design. The entire riad is yours to rent. The Riad has 5 luxurious rooms and suites, all decorated with bathrooms (Gel, Shampoing and Soap...), air conditioning, a lounge bar, several lounges, dining room, WIFI connection, TV / DVD. the Riad can organize excursions, airport transfers, guided visites for Marrakech and Souks, Excursions... The Riad offers also the possibility to have meals like dinner or Lunch and of course breakfasts, our cook can propose also Cooking class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Kalinka Lotus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing