We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome in a beautiful and quiet Riad”
Review of Dar Akal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Akal
Ranked #20 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Dar Akal is a very lovely Riad. We liked everything: the cleanliness, the beauty and the tranquility. But the most important aspect that I would like to emphasize is the warm welcome we received! Said is the best host ever. He's always helpful and with his advices you can't get lost even in the Medina's alleys.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 438 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was our first visit to Marrakech, said met us at the taxi and was so helpful, any thing we needed he sorted, he helped us plan our 3 days perfectly as there is a lot to do it can be quite daunting! The food in the riad was very good and reasonable and the rooms were great. Said also showed us how to get to the square , suggested restaurants and places to avoid!! Said you were the perfect manager and a real asset to the dar Akal ! we will definitely return sometime soon thank you again said! Xx

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I recently returned from a three night stay at Dar Akal, my second visit to the riad. The service and hospitality was again second to none and I was also very lucky with the weather. I was able to have breakfast on the roof terrace each day in the sunshine, and some lovely lunches there too. Thanks again to Said, Nezha and Hana for helping to make it a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baloolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had a lovely 3 nights stay at the Dar Akal and will definitely return.

Riad is right in the middle of the medina, close proximity to the souks and central market place. Staff of the riad is very friendly: cook, cleaner, manager Said. They will probably do anything you ask them. We felt right at home, very welcoming atmosphere. The riad is so picturesque, wonderful decorated.

First night we went out to the market and had a meal at food stall 32. Highly recommended! We also normally don’t do these kind of food stalls, but it worked out very well, very tasteful and no stomach aches afterwards.
For the second night the cook prepared an excellent tahin meal. We went with her in the morning to the market to buy the ingredients, I loved it! Slow cooked food, yummy, delicious.
The breakfasts are fabulous, with tea, fresh orange juice, coffee, sweet breads, pancakes, yoghurts. Served on the roof terrace, what a nice way to start the day.

I had a haman washing and massage. The washing was a bit too rough for my very fair skin, but I felt so clean afterwards! Next time I will ask the lady for a ‘soft’ approach. Massage was a good sports massage, not the ‘barely touch’ kind of a massage, but a good workout for myself and the massage therapist. So I started the New Year feeling fresh and reborn thanks to this lovely stay at Dar Akal.

Room Tip: For sleep quality 4 out of 5 because the mattrasses might be a bit too tough for some. For swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mir508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

In December 2013 we stayed for two nights with our three kids in the Riad Dar Akal. Although it is probably not the typical place to be for the kids, we had a great time nonetheless. This was especially thanks to the extreme hospitality, great food and flexibility of the management (i.e. Said). Rooms and facilities are excellent and the breakfast on the roof is a great way to start the day. The location of the Riad is also great, as it is in the old Medina, less than 5 minutes walk - great walk! - from the markets. In short, great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeesStoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a great stay in Dar Akal. It was so familiar and Said is an excellent manager and also a good fellow :-) of the Riad. We liked the breakfast on the top of the roof with a great view and atmosphere! I'm sure we will come back and we can recommend Dar Akal!!
Tina & Ronny from germany

Room Tip: all rooms are comfortable and very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Dar Akal Riad is a great place to stay. The staff is extremely kind and efficient. Nice facilities and good service, including transfer from airport and support to activities in the city or nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,167 in Marrakech
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#5 of 1,167 in Marrakech
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela Princesse
Riad Karmela Princesse
#12 of 1,167 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#13 of 1,167 in Marrakech
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Matham
Riad Matham
#28 of 1,167 in Marrakech
664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#8 of 1,167 in Marrakech
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Akal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Akal

Address: 32 Derb Lalla Azzouna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $102 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the end of a quiet alley, close to the souks and Ben Youssef Medersa, only a few minutes walk from the famous Jemaa El Fna, Dar Akal welcomes you.Dar Akal is an old 18C Riad carefully restored and renovated by renowned architect Christophe Simeon and his skilled Moroccan craftsmen, using traditional techniques.The Riad has 4 bedrooms and 1 suite arranged around a patio with trees and a central fountain.After a busy day in the medina, or returning from the Atlas Mountains, the desert or from Essaouira, you can relax in the relative coolness of the patio, on the first floor in the menzeh (traditionally the best room, used for entertaining special guests) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Akal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing