We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay at Dar Akal, will return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Akal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Akal
Ranked #22 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at Dar Akal, will return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had a lovely 3 nights stay at the Dar Akal and will definitely return.

Riad is right in the middle of the medina, close proximity to the souks and central market place. Staff of the riad is very friendly: cook, cleaner, manager Said. They will probably do anything you ask them. We felt right at home, very welcoming atmosphere. The riad is so picturesque, wonderful decorated.

First night we went out to the market and had a meal at food stall 32. Highly recommended! We also normally don’t do these kind of food stalls, but it worked out very well, very tasteful and no stomach aches afterwards.
For the second night the cook prepared an excellent tahin meal. We went with her in the morning to the market to buy the ingredients, I loved it! Slow cooked food, yummy, delicious.
The breakfasts are fabulous, with tea, fresh orange juice, coffee, sweet breads, pancakes, yoghurts. Served on the roof terrace, what a nice way to start the day.

I had a haman washing and massage. The washing was a bit too rough for my very fair skin, but I felt so clean afterwards! Next time I will ask the lady for a ‘soft’ approach. Massage was a good sports massage, not the ‘barely touch’ kind of a massage, but a good workout for myself and the massage therapist. So I started the New Year feeling fresh and reborn thanks to this lovely stay at Dar Akal.

Room Tip: For sleep quality 4 out of 5 because the mattrasses might be a bit too tough for some. For swimmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mir508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
169
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbroek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

In December 2013 we stayed for two nights with our three kids in the Riad Dar Akal. Although it is probably not the typical place to be for the kids, we had a great time nonetheless. This was especially thanks to the extreme hospitality, great food and flexibility of the management (i.e. Said). Rooms and facilities are excellent and the breakfast on the roof is a great way to start the day. The location of the Riad is also great, as it is in the old Medina, less than 5 minutes walk - great walk! - from the markets. In short, great experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeesStoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landsberg am Lech, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a great stay in Dar Akal. It was so familiar and Said is an excellent manager and also a good fellow :-) of the Riad. We liked the breakfast on the top of the roof with a great view and atmosphere! I'm sure we will come back and we can recommend Dar Akal!!
Tina & Ronny from germany

Room Tip: all rooms are comfortable and very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Dar Akal Riad is a great place to stay. The staff is extremely kind and efficient. Nice facilities and good service, including transfer from airport and support to activities in the city or nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed 5 days in the Riad. The location in the Medina is perfect for the sightseeing of the souks and other places. Allthough in the cener it is extremly quite and gives one a perfect view over the city when you are on top of the roof. The interior design is modern and luxurious giving the Riad a different touch. What makes this Riad different to others is the extraordinary service from Said and his team. ...Thomas

Room Tip: Take the Suite with the 2 sleeping rooms. The old Ceiling is really worth seeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conselheiro Lafaiete, MG
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have never been so well received in my life! Familiar, pleasant and safe environment! Although the location seem a little strange at first, this same "problem" brings you into the Medina's life and the truth Marrakech! Great food, and great teas ... Possibility to organize all the rides inside the Riad.

I recommend!

Felipe

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I could not have asked for a better experience for my first time in Morocco! Not only was the Riad beautiful, but the staff was extremely welcoming and friendly! Any questions that I had about the surrounding area were answered completely and soon I felt like I was a Moroccan myself! The rooms were so beautiful, clean, and comfortable. It truly was like staying at home. The food offered at the Riad was traditional and fresh and they always kept the tea coming! I would suggest this place to any family or friend of mine in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#12 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#11 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#13 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#5 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al-Bushra
Riad Al-Bushra
#6 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Emberiza Sahari
Riad Emberiza Sahari
#19 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Akal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Akal

Property: Dar Akal
Address: 32 Derb Lalla Azzouna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the end of a quiet alley, close to the souks and Ben Youssef Medersa, only a few minutes walk from the famous Jemaa El Fna, Dar Akal welcomes you.Dar Akal is an old 18C Riad carefully restored and renovated by renowned architect Christophe Simeon and his skilled Moroccan craftsmen, using traditional techniques.The Riad has 4 bedrooms and 1 suite arranged around a patio with trees and a central fountain.After a busy day in the medina, or returning from the Atlas Mountains, the desert or from Essaouira, you can relax in the relative coolness of the patio, on the first floor in the menzeh (traditionally the best room, used for entertaining special guests) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Akal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing