We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Akal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Akal
Ranked #23 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Riad is a sanctuary in a very hectic city, the quiet courtyard is peaceful and beautifully decorated. Upon arrival we were greeted with mint tea and biscuits. Said, the manager was extremely friendly and helpful in planning our stay. We scheduled an excursion through the Riad that was very fun and reasonably priced. Said organized everything for us and made the trip tailored to our interests.

The breakfast was delicious and different every morning. We had two dinners there which were exceptional, the food here was better than any of the restaurants that we tried during our time in Marrakech. I would highly recommend this Riad, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sc0tts245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
155
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I've just spent 9 days at this wonderful oasis in the middle of the medina. The Riad is beautifully decorated, and the suite was such a luxury. Dar Akal is a perfect location for getting to know Marrakech and the outskirts. The assistance of the owners, and especially the manager Said, added greatly to the convenience of our stay. Day trips and transport were smoothly arranged. Helpful, friendly staff attended to all our needs. Meals served were delicious - better than the recommended restaurants in the area. Highly recommended! We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite which was real luxury but worth every dirham!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our stay at Dar Akal was one of the best experiences in Marrakech. Nice and clean rooms, good breakfast, quiet terrasse and a nice sound of water from the moroccan courtyard. We were always happy everytime we came back after visiting the amazing and caothic city. The manager gave us also very good suggestions to enjoy our visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This Riad is a paradise in the center of the Medina. Beautiful place, very clean and great hospitality are the things that make this place exceptional. The manager was very helpful with details about Marrakech. We also had 3 dinners which were amazing. One of the best Riads i ever visited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DemosDemosthenous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We planned on visiting Marrakech for a few days and we were looking through all the acommodations we were astonished by the enormous quantity of ryads that exist in the medina. It was a tough search but it was worth every second of it!! We found the perfect ryad, with only 5 rooms is not a hotel, but a family. The building is beautiful and old but with a touch of modernity. Said is the manager, from the moment he picks you up from the spot the airport transfer takes you which is like 5 min from the ryad he makes you feel welcome, like you entered some kind of family, after you get to the ryad he will serve you delicious tea with mint and moroccan cookies while he explains to you how to get to/from the ryad (this will prove helpful later as the ryad is in the middle of little tiny streets that look all the same). You have the chance to have dinner or lunch at the ryad the day of your arrival, but have to tell said in advance since the cooker (Fatima) has to buy the ingredients. The room was big and beautiful and the bathroom is addicting (by some reason). On the roof there is small pool which is more than enough for taking a refreshing bath after a long day fighting with the store owners in the souk. The breakfast is one of the best things, by the time you wake up shophia will have your breakfast ready and waiting for you to enjoy it by the pool. The ryad is marvelous by itself but there is something you cant miss which is by far one of the best: the hamman+massage, is something you shouldnt miss, such a wonderful experience thanks to mohammed who is real professional. We just got back from marrakech and we are already planning on coming back just to stay in this wonderful place. If you visit marrakech, stay in Dar Akal, you would not regret it.

Room Tip: Our room was chambre azzouna, so cool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcasin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This beautiful riad will amaze you from the very beginning. Coming from the airport we had to walk through Medina a little bit (you start to experience Morocco immediately): loud and crowdy it absolutely contrast with cool and quite Dar Akal. Service is wonderful: you can literally find everything you need: great traditional food, hamam (try it!), tours etc. Useful tips about Marrakesh and Morocco from Said helped us a lot! Rooms are very nice: big and clean they are decorated in Moroccan style. An everyday breakfast on the roof next to the pool is excellent way to start discovering this beautiful country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misha_sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodez france
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

An absolute jewel. 2 minutes and your in the medina. Extremely helpful staff always a smile on their faces, ready with info. Clean and tastefully decorated a really wonderful place to be in and everything works showers taps air contionning. A lovely breakfast up on the roof terrase amongst pots of bougainvillier, honeysuckle and overlooking the rooftops. If you want to eat at the riad after a long day visiting no problem the cook is excellent, tagine, couscous, kefta. If your Lucky enough to meet the owners you'll understand, they are absolutely charming, consequently it reflects on the riad. If your looking for a confortable and charming place to stay I highly recommend Dar Akal. Martha and Bernard

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank athosFranceRodez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#19 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#14 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#11 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Anabel
Riad Anabel
#20 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#9 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Akal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Akal

Property: Dar Akal
Address: 32 Derb Lalla Azzouna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the end of a quiet alley, close to the souks and Ben Youssef Medersa, only a few minutes walk from the famous Jemaa El Fna, Dar Akal welcomes you.Dar Akal is an old 18C Riad carefully restored and renovated by renowned architect Christophe Simeon and his skilled Moroccan craftsmen, using traditional techniques.The Riad has 4 bedrooms and 1 suite arranged around a patio with trees and a central fountain.After a busy day in the medina, or returning from the Atlas Mountains, the desert or from Essaouira, you can relax in the relative coolness of the patio, on the first floor in the menzeh (traditionally the best room, used for entertaining special guests) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Akal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing