We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely couple of hours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee de la Palmeraie

Musee de la Palmeraie
Ranked #47 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely couple of hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Quiet little gallery - we were the only people there, and had the place to ourselves. The employee we spoke to was obviously very proud of the place, and no wonder. Several wee nooks and crannies where you could sit with a book quite happily for an hour or two in the garden, and large selection of modern art with Moroccan /Islamic influences. At the time we were there, the 6 tortoises were getting themselves set for hibernation, but the bullfrogs were gearing up for the mating season in the pond they share with the terrapins. Well worth the 40 Drms entry fee.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Was a great bolt hole from the Rain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stumbled across this whilst walking in the rain and yes sometimes the unexpected turn out to be the most memorable as this was.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovelyLady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
187 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Exquisite location and artworks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a wonderful addition to the cultural life of Marrakech. Just outside of the city, it is an oasis of calm. The gallery is set in exquisite gardens, each with a particular character, and dotted with outdoor sculptures. The gallery itself is extensive - the owner is committed to supporting and showing the work of new young Moroccan artists as well as very established ones, and the works are stunning. We were especially glad to see many works by female artists. The staff are young, friendly and well-informed. Don't miss this place - it's a lovely experience all round.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank helidjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had an opportunity to visit the Musee de la Palmeraie this year and found it a real gem. The setting is very tranquile, the artwork thought provoking. All in all a real must.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PatB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de la Palmeraie also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Musee de la Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing