We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Air Conditioned” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Porte de Marrakech

La Porte de Marrakech
Ranked #228 of 847 Restaurants in Marrakech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Air Conditioned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The small area on the ground floor is air conditioned and on a day that reached a temperature of 37 degrees the food did not matter that much and it was a bonus when it turned out to be very good. The kitchen is situated on the first floor and then there are more tables on the second floor which is the roof and in the evening that would be very nice. I had lemon chicken which was really tasty and I would have that again any day. We were six and all my friends enjoyed their meals and we all said we would return if we were in town for longer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davidpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    32
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Vegetarian dream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Agree entirely with the previous review. Awesome vegetarian food and an absolute oasis of calm in the mayhem of Marrakech. What's not to like about this restarurant?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mystic-Cabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We were trying to go to another restaurant but it was closed. Opted for this place as we walked past. Waiter was friendly. Food took a long time coming, bit it was adequate when it arrived. Terrace had a welcome breeze. Cost was reasonable. We spent 150 Dh with tip on two lunches and a big bottle of water.

Helpful?
Thank Jaysquared
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Randomly opted to eat in this restaurant during a late night exploration of the city center. We were pleasantly surprised both by the tasty food, good service and reasonable prices. The pastillas were particularly nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OmniDomni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome vegetarian pastillas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful atmosphere, great view from the rooftop, excellent service and some great vegetarian options, including a small section of the menu comprised entirely of vegetarian pastillas. We tried a goat cheese and leek pastilla topped with slices of banana and a red/green pepper combination with raisins and prunes, both of which were packed full of flavour and fresh ingredients Easily some of the best vegetarian food we've come across in Morocco and a welcome change from the standard tagine and couscous options. Meat dishes looked equally well presented. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porte de Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Porte de Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing