We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find”

La Porte de Marrakech
Ranked #260 of 874 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good find”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Randomly opted to eat in this restaurant during a late night exploration of the city center. We were pleasantly surprised both by the tasty food, good service and reasonable prices. The pastillas were particularly nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmniDomni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    36
    18
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome vegetarian pastillas!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful atmosphere, great view from the rooftop, excellent service and some great vegetarian options, including a small section of the menu comprised entirely of vegetarian pastillas. We tried a goat cheese and leek pastilla topped with slices of banana and a red/green pepper combination with raisins and prunes, both of which were packed full of flavour and fresh ingredients Easily some of the best vegetarian food we've come across in Morocco and a welcome change from the standard tagine and couscous options. Meat dishes looked equally well presented. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely restaurant and staff, great value - nice atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It was such a nice and lovely dinner.
from the very first minute we were warmly welcomed by Joseff who let us sit in the terrace on the top of the restaurant.
We opt for the daily menu and it was amazing. Such a great value for good food.
I would reccomend the Maroccan soup, the beef cous-cous and oranges with cinnamon.
All was soooo yummy and thanks to the staff (especially Joseff who was really friendly and after the dinner showed us around and gave direction :)) we really enjoy our dinner.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eletop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good food for reasonable price”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the riad harmonie and we dined out here for several times. The menu has much variety. Cheap price and very nice quality food. You always get some olives with bread as a starter. Free of charge. And even If they don't have the exact drink (orangina) you ordered on the menu. Youssef sends someone to get it for you! Amazing service. You can sit nice on the roofterrace or inside with nice decorations. Friendly waiters and last but not least prefferable choice. If you've got a sensitive stomach. The food is fresh and wel cooked! If you want to make a reservation you can call: +212615504564

Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertfordshire, Uk
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat and relax with the breeze on the top terrace”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I tried this restaurant with a friend and we found it lovely and very welcoming.
you climb up the stairs and you find a nice terrace with view of roof-tops and very cozy in the decor. Lights and typical moroccan materials hanging made the terrace infused in a lovely atmosphere.
The food was also great and fantastic for two 'veggies' one of which with allergies to spices!
The service was good, friendly and at the right speed (not too fast or too slow that you needed to call them).
On arrival we were given bread and olives which were dilish and helped keep out rambling stomachs at bay while our food was arriving.
I'll definetively go back there to eat!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaHertfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porte de Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Porte de Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing