We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic experience in the Mellah”
Review of Dar 73

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar 73
Ranked #124 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An authentic experience in the Mellah”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Overall, I will say that I did think Dar73 was nice place to stay. The riad is comfortable and has some nice finishing touches. The hosts were kind and the breakfast each morning was pleasant.

However, you should know that it's tucked away off a small street in the Mellah (old Jewish quarter), which is a less tourist friendly area of the Medina. I didn't feel comfortable walking back after dark, and there were often dodgy characters lurking around the entrance to the riad, as well as on the path to the Palais Badia.

My main complaint was really the smell of my room. It's hard to describe, but it was rather unpleasant. All of my clothes smelled and even after washing them, the stench still lingers. I'm uncertain if it was just my room (#6), but this is the main reason why I can't give the riad a higher score.

Room Tip: Don't go into Room #6, it has a funny odor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global_Voyager1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isabelle U, Propriétaire at Dar 73, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear customers,

We solved the problem exessivement annoying odors of this lovely room.
Hoping to welcome you very soon.
isabelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    32
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
109
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

From the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel very welcome and at home without our personal space being invaded. Amen was a huge help throughout our trip from booking restaurants, helping us choose the best places to visit based on our needs and tastes and even arranging for a beautiful bouquet of birthday flowers to be in our room when we arrived! This is on top of the fresh roses in our room anyway. The rooms are petite but more than adequate unless you wish to swing a cat which we didn't! There is plenty of storage and room to put suitcases etc in cupboards. Huge shower and loo. Very tastefully decorated, not as Moroccan as previous riads we have stayed in but we liked this, not as chinnsy as some! Quite modern & beautiful! Breakfast was lovely, fresh coffee, breads an jams with fruit and yoghurt. Pancakes & omelette on 2 of the 3 days. All in all a wonderful stay and we would definatly stay again in a flash! Thank you to all at Dar 73! N & N

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinker1000Barbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottenberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Enchanted by the magic of Marrakech we came back for a third visit. This time we are pleased to have found Dar73! The Riad is a gem tucked into a medieval alley, a peaceful haven away from busy streets. We felt very welcome from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay. Every effort was made to make our stay enjoyable, fresh roses were placed in our room everyday, delicious breakfast was served on the rooftop when the weather permitted and mint tea was served with warm hospitality. We enjoyed the in-house hammam and relaxing massage followed by a meal which was the most delicious meal we had in Marrakech. The decor is light in color and fresh, a mix of Nordic and Moroccan design with beautiful details. Our daughter, aged 18 said she felt like a princess:) Thank you Amine, Isabel and the rest of the staff!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

This riad is located on a quiet side street in the medina , ten minutes walk from the square. It is modern and the rooms and spaces are great. The staff are very friendly and gave a lot of attention to my father, who at the time was not feeling so well. Great breakfast, nice roof top terrace make for an excellent stay in Marrakech. It is of course spotless and has a hammam and private massage service. Highly recommended. thanks to Amin Sied and all the staff. Enda (Ireland)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hammockheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I just stayed 5 days in this Riad wich I can not recommend. One of the room smells like a toilet and the responsible Amine is very arrogant.When we asked why it smells, he told me that I booked a hotel in the medina and thats normal. Before we left was nobody there to prepare the invoice - so we had to wait 20 minutes. But not everything is bad - but I will not go there another time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thierry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isabelle U, Propriétaire at Dar 73, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur,

Je réponds à l'avis et à son titre injurieux que vous avez déposé.
Dar 73 était ravi de vous recevoir ( organisation des services d'un chauffeur, communication de contacts avec qui vous avez eu rendez vous pour votre projet hôtelier , diners offerts ) .
Nous accordons à nos clients la même considération et toute notre équipe est toujours chaleureusement remerciée pour sa compétence, sa disponibilité et sa gentillesse.
Vous n'avez pas su apprécié tout cela . Dommage .
Vous parlez de l'arrogance de notre responsable, Amine mais rappelez vous de votre comportement avec lui.

Pour finir, vous devriez savoir également que la médina de Marrakech possède un réseau d'égouts très ancien et que malheureusement , certaines odeurs remontent en fonction des changements de temps.

si vous souhaitez devenir le mécène d'un réseau d'égouts plus performant et moins gênant en terme d'odeurs, alors bienvenu.
Nous vous avons proposé un changement de chambre ( enfin pas pour vous, puisque vous ne logiez pas dans la chambre en question) , les effets personnels de vos amis ont été transférés dans une autre chambre disponible mais le changement de chambre a été décliné car vous avez trouvé à votre retour au riad qu'il était plus pratique pour vous d'avoir 2 chambres cote à cote.

L'équipe de Dar 73 continuera à satisfaire aux exigences fixées par nous même : qualité des services, propreté de la maison et des chambres , sens de l'accueil et gentillesse.
Vous ne validez pas tout ceci.
Difficile de vous plaire, Monsieur mais les commentaires de nos clients nous confortent cependant dans nos objectifs fixés.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

It's a very chic and modern version of Morocco architecture. Service is good and friendly . Common areas are really nice, luminous and spacious so you can rest from the Medina. Rooms are really small, despite all the fancy arrangement is hard to move around if traveling with some luggage ( a carry on and back pack per person) . Compared to other Riads you don't get the magical experience but it's chic. I don't give it a great value rating since price vs. location don't match. You have to go into a very narrow and crowded isle to get to the Riad.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have been spending four nights in this charming Dar, very well renovated, full of quite thesis, where you really feel at home. It is situated within the medina, a little difficult to find, but this is just the fun of the city, isn'it? Nothing to criticize... The gentleness of the hosts, the good advices, the sweet breakfasts and the smell of the toasted bread, the quality of the furniture and of the decoration.

Room Tip: The suite N5 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#109 of 500 in Marrakech
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#120 of 500 in Marrakech
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#121 of 500 in Marrakech
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#78 of 500 in Marrakech
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#157 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar 73? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar 73

Property: Dar 73
Address: Derb Manchoura, 16 | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar 73 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Dar 73 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing