We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place and service”
Review of Riad First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad First
Ranked #249 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great place and service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

i often go to marrakech and i usually go somewhere else. this time the usual riad was closed and at the end i can say tha it was a great chance for me, because i went to riad first!
we planned with friends to rent the whole riad and we did. Fatima at the riad took care of us, cooking great dinners that we had up at the terrace.
we had good advices from fatima to go around.
the location it's defenetely very good, it's closer to the place than you can think, but you have to have a tiny bit the clou of marrakech medina map.
rooms are very nice, clean, one different to the other and made with a great taste an interested mix between moroccan tradition and modern taste.
a great thank to fatima again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gugliada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    26
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
63
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Riad First ticks so many boxes I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. It is close to Jmaa el Fna (10 mins walk) - not too difficult to find once you've located the turn off from Bab Doukkala which is one of the main souk roads and featured on all city maps (handy fountain and road sign as a pointer) - the design is modern but superb - with accents of traditional Moroccan design, the riad itself very peaceful and quiet, it has both a plunge pool downstairs and a rooftop paddling pool and sun terrace and most of all it has Fatima, the tireless house manager who runs the place like a tight ship and is completely warm and charming.

For our money our room was very spacious - an extremely comfy bed and deliciously deep carved bath with fluffy towels and bathrobes. There's a tv lounge (which you really shoudn't need to use, but handy for a night in with a movie!) and a dinner room where Fatima will arrange dinners by candlelight on request. There's even a gym (as if you would!)

Aircon worked a treat and the pool was very welcome at the end of the day.

Fatima is an angel - rushing around to meet our every need and always smiling and friendly - she made sure we had everything we needed, gave us handy tips on getting around, fetched cold beers for us, called us taxis etc. A hen party staying in the riad at the time were waited on hand and foot and it all looked effortless.

We stayed in three riads in Marrakech, this was by far the best value for money and most attractive.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chapter 4 - amazing bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItinerantEpicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this riad for three nights, it was wonderful to feel we had a quiet place to relax after a busy day in the medina. Fatima and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully designed. It is a small paradise in the middle of the medina!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiliaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Impossible to find without relying on the numerous touts but an oasis of calm from the noise and bustle of outside. Comfortable rooms but we found the shower difficult to use comfortablyand the toilet and shower being in the same room , albeit a L shaped room wasn't ideal.The rooftop didn't have great views but a good place to sit away from it all.
The people were lovely and we were directed to a great restaurant the first night. We asked for a meal on the second night and that, too was very good: chicken taginsea good meal on the second night we stayed. Breakfast was pleasant. pancakes, yoghurt, orange juice and on one occasion eggs

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sueleeds186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Chayma
Riad Chayma
#69 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Alaka
Riad Alaka
#252 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sahara Nour
Riad Sahara Nour
#438 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Binebine
Riad Dar Binebine
#417 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#346 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Riad d'Airain Marrakech
Riad d'Airain Marrakech
#502 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad First

Property: Riad First
Address: Derb Jdid 337 Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad First 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing