We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place and service”
Review of Riad First

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad First
Ranked #240 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

i often go to marrakech and i usually go somewhere else. this time the usual riad was closed and at the end i can say tha it was a great chance for me, because i went to riad first!
we planned with friends to rent the whole riad and we did. Fatima at the riad took care of us, cooking great dinners that we had up at the terrace.
we had good advices from fatima to go around.
the location it's defenetely very good, it's closer to the place than you can think, but you have to have a tiny bit the clou of marrakech medina map.
rooms are very nice, clean, one different to the other and made with a great taste an interested mix between moroccan tradition and modern taste.
a great thank to fatima again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gugliada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 143 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Riad First ticks so many boxes I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. It is close to Jmaa el Fna (10 mins walk) - not too difficult to find once you've located the turn off from Bab Doukkala which is one of the main souk roads and featured on all city maps (handy fountain and road sign as a pointer) - the design is modern but superb - with accents of traditional Moroccan design, the riad itself very peaceful and quiet, it has both a plunge pool downstairs and a rooftop paddling pool and sun terrace and most of all it has Fatima, the tireless house manager who runs the place like a tight ship and is completely warm and charming.

For our money our room was very spacious - an extremely comfy bed and deliciously deep carved bath with fluffy towels and bathrobes. There's a tv lounge (which you really shoudn't need to use, but handy for a night in with a movie!) and a dinner room where Fatima will arrange dinners by candlelight on request. There's even a gym (as if you would!)

Aircon worked a treat and the pool was very welcome at the end of the day.

Fatima is an angel - rushing around to meet our every need and always smiling and friendly - she made sure we had everything we needed, gave us handy tips on getting around, fetched cold beers for us, called us taxis etc. A hen party staying in the riad at the time were waited on hand and foot and it all looked effortless.

We stayed in three riads in Marrakech, this was by far the best value for money and most attractive.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chapter 4 - amazing bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItinerantEpicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this riad for three nights, it was wonderful to feel we had a quiet place to relax after a busy day in the medina. Fatima and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully designed. It is a small paradise in the middle of the medina!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emiliaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Impossible to find without relying on the numerous touts but an oasis of calm from the noise and bustle of outside. Comfortable rooms but we found the shower difficult to use comfortablyand the toilet and shower being in the same room , albeit a L shaped room wasn't ideal.The rooftop didn't have great views but a good place to sit away from it all.
The people were lovely and we were directed to a great restaurant the first night. We asked for a meal on the second night and that, too was very good: chicken taginsea good meal on the second night we stayed. Breakfast was pleasant. pancakes, yoghurt, orange juice and on one occasion eggs

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueleeds186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANESSA B, Propriétaire at Riad First, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres à l'étage sont préférables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anner752017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANESSA B, Propriétaire at Riad First, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Karin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#279 of 501 in Marrakech
230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
#284 of 1,167 in Marrakech
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Chayma
Riad Chayma
#72 of 1,167 in Marrakech
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
#64 of 1,167 in Marrakech
323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
#116 of 1,167 in Marrakech
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Lena & SPA
Riad Lena & SPA
#161 of 1,167 in Marrakech
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad First

Address: Derb Jdid 337 Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $81 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad First 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing