We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Oasis of calm in the Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad CharCam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad CharCam
Ranked #121 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis of calm in the Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I unreservedly recommend Riad CharCam to any visitor to Marrakech. Situated right in the Medina (difficult to find at first, you may need to get directions) but quiet and relaxing, the perfect escape from the craziness of the souks. Jemaa el Fna is a few minutes walk away. The owner, Bruno, could not be more friendly and helpful. Great value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
95
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent three nights at Bruno's Riad in the centre of the Medina and had a wonderful and relaxing stay. The Riad is very well hidden down some very some alleys in a Derb, but is all the more peaceful for that and still very central - about 6 or 7 mins walk to the Djemma el Fna.

We stayed in the Green suite and it was lovely - big and clean and presented to us with rose petals on the bed and towels. Bruno was charming and very helpful throughout our stay, and the plants in the cenral courtyard and on the roof terrace provided a wonderful atmosphere for relaxing and taking a (very shallow) dip in the plunge pool. The room had A/C/TV etc and great Wifi signal throughout. Breakfast was lovely and the service was fantastic throughout. I highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad C, Propriétaire at Riad CharCam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello

I'm glad you like it in any case that you are a patie gran vacuum in the Riad I hope that the back is not too hard
Hoping to see you soon you are in you
Bruno
GOOGLE TRANSLATE SMILE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in June in Marrakech for 4 nights with some friends, and we really enjoyed our stay in Riad Charcam. A friend of us living there recommended us this riad, and it was a good choice. Bruno and all the staff are ready to make yourself feel like home, he gave recommendations about some activities to do if you don' t have anything planned. The small swimming pool is good enough to cool down in hotter days. In addition, rooms are very well equiped with A/C, TV, bathroom,... I would recommend it to anyone wishing to spend a long weekend in a local ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabibuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

After being lead down a maze of dark alleyways we arrived here and it was a little paradise. Bruno lives here himself , what a lovely man, and he and his staff are so helpful and friendly. We could not fault this in any way, great food, beautiful room, very clean, small pool on the amazing roof terrace. I would recommend to all.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad C, Propriétaire at Riad CharCam, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Google Translation
Bonsoir

Avec beaucoup de retard je viens de prendre connaissance de votre commentaire merci pour tout et au plaisir de vous revoir

Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our experience in the Riad Charcam was perfect. The Riad has a lovely design every detail has been cared. The owner of the Riad, who attended us Bruno is a really nice guy, he made us feel as at home. Breakfasts at the terrace of the Riad are great, the views are uncomparable. I could say that this is one of the most charming places I have ever been. The location is great, in the center of the Medina. If we visit Marrakech we would for sure book at the Riad Charcam again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titi8886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent a total of four nights at Riad Charcam last week as part of a last minute trip to Morocco. My partner made the booking for the Riad so I arrived not knowing what to expect - but it exceeded all expectations. After returning home I read all the other reviews for this riad on Tripadvisor and I see everyone has the same opinion as me: WONDERFUL. We couldn't think of any reason not to give 10/10 and highly recommend a stay here.
Bruno, the owner, lives in the riad and is always there to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. Great breakfast with fresh juice, eggs, pancakes and lots more. In fact some days we skipped lunch as we were so full after all the food! Fantastic to have it outside in the sunshine on the rooftop terrace. Here also we spend evenings relaxing near the pool or just lounging around - plenty of space, comfortable seating and sunbeds and lots of cushions. The rooms are very well equipped with flat-screen tv, dvd player and for the first time ever I found rooms with a brilliant hairdryer (which, as someone with hair that goes wild if left to its own devices, I really appreciated!!). We stayed in two different rooms as after three nights here we went on a trip to the desert and then returned for one night again afterwards. Both rooms were perfect. I think I had the best nights of sleep I ever had here - the beds are very comfortable and with shutters on the windows you don't hear a sound, which was unexpected given that it's in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech. We had two evening meals here and they were both great, a credit to the excellent cook. The girls who work here are really pleasant and smiling.
When you arrive, Bruno will tell you to "be as if you are at home", and I think I can honestly say that's exactly what it felt like, but with the added benefit of excellent service. As we only arranged our holiday literally two days before going we had no time to research tour companies for excursions but Bruno has an excellent contact if you wish to make any trips - we spent an unforgettable three days touring including Todra Gorge, Dades Gorge and a night in a tent in the desert arriving and leaving by camel.
Overall the riad is excellent value for money, small enough to feel homely, beautifully presented and with a marvellous host. Bruno should be very proud of what he has created here and we wish him every success with his riad. In short - don't hesitate to stay here, you will not regret it for a second!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank queendollybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a week with Bruno at Riad CharCam and thoroughly recommend the experience to anyone else looking to visit Marrakech.

many of the other Riad owners have an empire of several Riad's under their ownership and as a result sub-manage their properties. This is not the case with Brunom who lives in and manages Riad CharCam on site making for a very friendly and accomodating atmosphere.

As an english native my grasp on foreign language is typically (and embarassingly) poor, but this was absolutely no obstacle considering that Bruno speaks French. Bruno has a brilliant network of guides fluent in a huge range of languages at his fingertips. They are as friendly and helpful as the man himself!

The Riad itself is gorgeous. We stayed in the bleue suite but had a tour around the Riad and saw that the other suites (red, green, pink etc) were equally appealing and well maintained. I understand that the buliding itself is original architecture but the whole building was renovated very recently giving a really nice blend of modern and traditional. The roof terrace is also lovely. Plenty of space to sub-bathe, relax and go for a dip and is surprisingly quiet given the proximity to the Souks (until of course the Muezzin makes his daily calls for prayers!). Loads of plants and greenery with only the sound of the birds and gentle trickle of water from the plunge pool make this serene haven a real paradise.

We went to Marrakech and Riad Charcam expenting a good value, memorable retreat for two. We got all of the above and more, and left feeling like we had been put up by a dear friend (with hotel level service and 24 hour concierge!). It's very clear to see why Bruno is getting such good reviews on booking.com and trip advisor, and naturally this is no exception.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, just depends on your preference of colour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris_Tutill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#26 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Pourpre Medina
Riad Pourpre Medina
#98 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#110 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#89 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Khmissa
Riad Dar Khmissa
#100 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad CharCam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad CharCam

Property: Riad CharCam
Address: n 34 Derb Ouayhah | Sidi Abdelaziz Medina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad CharCam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad CharCam Sarl, is a guest house arranged by the Tourist Office of Marrakech, held by the owners happy. Hanaa, Chams and Bruno from Sommières, after a career in cosmetics, they come to realize their dream of 30 years. They created a small paradise of peace and nature with its theme the four elements: Air, Earth, Water and Fire, in the middle Medina just 10 minutes from the Place Djemaa el-Fna. After 3 years of work, your guests are ready to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad CharCam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing