We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel and exquisite food”
Review of The Capaldi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Capaldi
Ranked #99 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel and exquisite food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We came for lunch with two friends with the intention of spending the night and celebrating their wedding anniversary. The mistake was only staying one night.

It’s clear that the young owners of this hotel are not only seasoned travellers and food lovers themselves but understand the fundamental principles of any successful business - “find out what they want, go get it and give it to ‘em”. This is precisely what they have done at The Capaldi with superb taste, serious attention to detail, client comfort, excellent service and a tangible lack of arrogance.

I won't go on about our gorgeous, spacious and well-appointed room with enormous walk in shower and divine linens, or the pools and manicured gardens, or the spa and cinema or the serenity of this heavenly oasis because I want to get to the restaurant and more specifically, the food. The restaurant, like the rest of the hotel, is expertly designed using traditional Moroccan finishes in a modern style. It’s beautifully lit and generously comfortable.

The food…... the food is simply exquisite. Each dish was beautifully presented and mouth-wateringly delectable. Whether it was the freshly baked and toasted bread with perfectly cooked eggs, the vitello tonnato, the carpaccio of jumbo prawns with an almond sorbet or the croustillant of chocolate, every morsel was delicious. That they can offer this gastronomic dining experience with a well thought out selection of wines at such reasonable prices is nothing short of remarkable. It is clearly consistent with the owners’ general ethos which is evident throughout the hotel – abundance. I get it and I love it. And if you know what’s good for you, you will too. Soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    9
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
109
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Firstly I never write reviews but having read so many and having had such a fantastic experience I thought I should share my own on here....

After two days in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech it was a real treat to escape and I can think of no better place to go to than The Capaldi. From the moment you step out of the car and look through the reception and out to the other side you will feel like you have arrived in paradise - the view....the pictures do not do it justice....it is even better than that.

We were warmly greeted by Ali at reception followed closely after by the charming owners Ed and Tara. (And I must not forget to mention the wonderful Tom who is their 'ops' man and always there to help with a smile!) The service throughout was fantastic, no request was too much (however big or small) and you will be happy lying here for days on end relaxing by one of their pools (I would recommend the smaller heated one for this time of year!) although there are lots of activities on offer for the more energetic of you - my mother and I chose to do the relaxing thing!

The rooms are beautiful - we were in the Farmhouse standard and there was nothing 'standard' about them, beautifully and simply decorated, enormous and superbly comfortable beds and a fireplace which was lit every evening which was ideal on a cool March night. We also had a look at some of the other rooms and you will not be disappointed by any as far as we could see!

The food was delicious - we had the poolside 'bar' menu every day (although there is a 2/3 course daily menu option also) and in the evening there is a 2/3 course menu which was fantastic and it was hard to choose each time! But that was okay because one of their many cocktails was a good way to while away the time whilst you thought about your options.

The Capaldi is new but I can tell you now that it is going to be very very popular. If I ever visited Marrakech again I would be very tempted to stay there and go into Marrakech for the day as the Capaldi is the perfect distance to go in and then be rescued by one of their air conditioned cars and transported back to the calm of the countryside. However for those wanting to be in the hustle and bustle I imagine their Riad which I also believe is called (Riad) Capaldi would be the ideal place to stay.

I will be recommending the Capaldi to all my family and friends visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank english_rose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed as a large group at Villas Fawakay but formed a small breakaway party to head to the hills. On a superb drive around the foothills of the Atlas Mountains it was suggested and arranged by our hosts Francis and Dawn that we should take lunch with their friends Ed and Tara. What a treat! We were met at the door as if we were minor royalty and treated as such throughout our lunch. Fabulous food, wonderful service and a gorgeous setting - who could ask for more?!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraADAMS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the beautiful Capaldi Hotel with friends,to celebrate twenty years of marriage.They were fantastic at organising dune buggy riding for our group!we went on trips into Marrakech,and had fantastic meals in the hotel.The food is excellent as good as you would find in New York,London.The staff our delightful and nothing is to much trouble.we will be back.

Melissa walker

Room Tip: They are all lovely.we stayed in the room with our own private pool very spoiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went to Morocco for half term break. We traveled with our children and checked ahead of time if this would be acceptable with the management and they were extremely welcoming. Thanks Tara and Ed, you guys rock! We spent two nights in the Riad Capaldi and three nights at the resort. What a great way to see Marrakech (city madness and country calm). First the Riad: The dizziness of the souks offset by the clean, neat Riad in a tucker away alley really helped us enjoy the diversity and contrast of the old town. The staff was fantastic and helped us feel comfortable right from the pick-up at the airport. Staying in the middle of old town can push you out of your comfort zone (which is what Marrakech is supposed to do, right?) but coming home to the Riad gave you the energy and peace to want get right back out there in the winding alleys and secret shops and hidden doorways which makes the medina so exciting. How proud you feel when you find the way back from the main square to the hotel for the first time by yourself. Indiana Jones-like adventures with the kids just by getting lost in the medina, so fun. The five times daily call to prayer in the medina is something you always remember. Breakfast and the views from the top of the riad really gave you a good perspective to start out the day. On to the Capaldi out in the country. Again the ride provided by the hotel is the way to go, so simple and door to door service made the transfer go quickly. Only about a 45 minute drive but the driver gave us a quick tour of the new town on the way out just so we could see that. Out at the country location (just called the Capaldi, i think) we immediately got the vibe: relax, swim and enjoy some great french/Moroccan food. Really, this chef does some amazing stuff and the kids ate it all which was such a relief to us as we were not sure how they would fare with food. All just awesome. We did the touristy things you are supposed to do: rode camels, rode donkeys. If you are going to want to do a camel ride it is probably best to do it away from the center of Marrakech. These camels seemed much happier then the ones you see closer to the center of town. Tara and Ed arranged this for us. You have to bargain with the camel owner but by now you will have been an expert in bargaining for prices with the locals. The pools at the hotel are so luxurious and the grounds are very pretty and well sculpted. New family homes for rent are being built now and i think they will have a private pool so this will add some real diversity to the property. Go eat at the restaurant near the lake (the team will tell you about this) it was delicious and a great little off-resort adventure for the country stay. Thanks again to the team at the Capaldi(s) you made our trip so enjoyable and gave made us feel so special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just spent 3 days at this gorgeous hotel with our teenage daughter,and we were all hugely impressed by this beautifully designed gem just 30 minutes from the souks,yet offering a sense of relaxing oasis in the desert.The rooms were extremely comfortable,complete with Egyptian cotton sheets,superb food from the French chef which draws residents from Marrakech to the restaurant at weekends.The owners Ed and Tara could not have been kinder and arranged activities like camel riding and dune buggies that our daughter adored....we also enjoyed watching a film in the beautiful cinema.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a stunning new hotel close to Marrakech (around half an hour away from the medina).

The location is incredible, with stunning views of the mountains.

The owners Ed and Tara are fantastic - they have thought of everything to ensure that guests have a completely relaxing, pampering stay. Lots of private spaces around the lovely pools, attentive staff to bring you cocktails, an excellent restaurant as well as a cinema room and spa mean that you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniamarrakech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
13.7 mi away
Kasbah Angour Atlas Mountains Hotel
13.5 mi away
Domaine de la Roseraie
Domaine de la Roseraie
#2 of 2 in Ouirgane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
10.5 mi away
Maroc Lodge
Maroc Lodge
#1 of 1 in Amizmiz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Domaine Malika
Domaine Malika
#1 of 2 in Ouirgane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
15.0 mi away
Kasbah Tamadot
Kasbah Tamadot
#1 of 4 in Asni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Palais Paysan
Le Palais Paysan
#104 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capaldi

Property: The Capaldi
Address: Route d'Amizmiz km39 | Lalla Takerkouste, Marrakech 42202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Capaldi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Capaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing