We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First Class Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capaldi Restaurant

The Capaldi Restaurant
Ranked #226 of 761 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, International, Mediterranean, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Class Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely setting within easy reach of Marrakech for a day trip for lunch. Fantastic food which is incredibly good value - I would go again and again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelEnthusiast061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We heard about this place last year and finally made it. Nice setting, service was so so, needs training and language skills an issue. Food was ok, nothing special, a bit on the expensive side for what it is meant to be in the country. The menu although limited(and full of spellos) looks promising but what it delivers in the plate is somewhat disappointing: complicated, tortured is the the word, rich sauces, and lack of seasoning. Set up is nice, cosy but you really have to want to come here since it's off the beaten tracks. Give them more time and another try...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IfuWeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What an amazing place, with great hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent the day at The Capaldi and I cannot praise it enough. Tara and Ed are just the perfect hosts, and the hotel / restaurant is wonderful. A real Oasis just outside Marrakech. The attention to detail on decor and facilities is superb, we were lucky enough to spend a day relaxing by one of the pools, then a wonderful lunch cooked by the talented French chef.
If you want to escape the hustle bustle of central Marrakech then this place is perfect. We will be going back hopefully to stay in the Riad Capaldi in the centre for a couple of days and then to the hotel Capaldi for some calm and relaxation.
A spa, cinema, restaurant, pools, great beds to lie by the pool, more sophisticated and less pretentious and far more enjoyable than 'Nikki beach' but cool and relaxing. No detail has been overlooked.
I would recommend this to anyone thinking of going to Marrakech. A truly wonderful pace to stay or just for lunch.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsO122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a stunning setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fantastic French chef, amazing setting by the pool (with a beautiful indoor area with fireplaces and a glass roof for winter months) - one of the best meals I have had in Marrakech

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank soniamarrakech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great to find an excellent new restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A new find. Excellent food. We had three courses each, a bottle of wine and coffees for under 550 dhs for two. The gazpacho was to die for.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Medinaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capaldi Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to The Capaldi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing