We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Magellan Yoga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Magellan Yoga
Ranked #111 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Right in the central medina in Marrakech, Riad Magellan is a great place to stay. Visiting Marrakech you want to be in the maze that is central Marrakech. Riad Magellan has the desired location and is a very comfortable place to make your foray into central Marrakech, as well as being a relaxed place to retire to when you want some peace and quiet. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. If you want to stay in Marrakech a Riad is the way to go and Magellan is an excellent choice.

We also looked up Lonely Planet as they only recommend places where the staff are treated well and receive reasonable pay, this is important to us and Riad Magellan was recommended. The staff were happy and very helpful which added to our stay. The owner, Philippe was also very helpful and we arranged a day trip outside Marrakech through the Riad which was a great way to see a little more of Morocco.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    96
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
130
480
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed with our 4 kids and with friends in the Riad Magellan and it was a superb experience. This was a great Riad with very helpful staff and owners and a very familiar touch to it. Philippe helped us with great trips to the Atlas mountains and Essaouira making this experience unique for the whole family.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cneike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Never stayed in any other riad before, so nothing to compare it to, but WOW!! After 3 weeks of backpacking, what an oasis. Makes you want to buy your own! Right in the middle of the medina, but tucked away in a really quiet side alley so totally quiet. And we paid not much more than we did for a crappy old room in Casablanca. The owner, Phillipe, was friendly and hugely helpful. Gave us a detailed map of the medina, sat down with us and pointed out all the good restaurants...just a wealth of information and it was always happily given. We stayed 5 days and treated ourselves to some wonderful meals (all his recommendations were spot on!), chillin' on the roof and (again, on his recommendation) found a fantastic gallery (Yayah's) where you can find some of Morocco's finest metalwork (for about the same price as your plane ticket!) Highly recommended riad!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noridave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent three days at Riad Magellan in early January. Finding it was not particularly hard coming from Jemaa el Fna, but you'll want to have a good idea in advance unless you want to be bothered by local kids wanting to guide you (for money).

Showers are very nice, rooms have AC and I guess also heating units (though even in January we did not need it). Wifi is available but the signal is pretty pathetic, you can't sit more than about 10 meters from the router... but in any case you should probably not spend all your vacation time on your tablet.

Staff are all very friendly. Everything is great value-for-money except the dinner, which is a very expensive €20pp not including drinks, and is substantially pricier than even the high end restaurants nearby, and I guess explains why we were the only people in 3 days to do the dinner. The (French) owner is friendly and straightforward and speaks English and French well, maybe other languages too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We loved our stay at Riad Magellan! We stayed for 4 nights over New Year's and couldn't have asked for a better location. The Riad is beautifully decorated and our room was small, but perfect for our stay. There's a great breakfast prepared for you each day and I also recommend having dinner there. It was probably our best meal in Marrakech! Philippe, Adiele, Mohammed and all of the staff we super nice and helpful from the time we booked until the time we left! If you're looking for an enjoyable experience in Marrakech, I highly recommend choosing Riad Magellan for your stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at Riad Magellan for 6 nights, between Christmas and New Year. We very much enjoyed our experience at this oasis of tranquillity. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked through the door, as we were treated to a lovely mint tea followed by dinner prepared specially for us. The staff were exceptionally warm, courteous and helpful, as was the owner, Phillipe. They provided us with detailed information about places of interest in Marrakech, and arranged for us one-day trips to destinations further afield. We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

It worked marvelously. If you ask the very helpful staff to arrange for a transfer to/from airport, a comfy jeep picks you up and drops you at the entry of the pedestrian precinct, then a trolley is arranged to plunge and wriggle your bags into narrow dark alleys of Medina Souk to reach the cosy riad. We slept gently cradled by distant chants at crack of dawn in the exquisitely decorated room. We relaxed in the courtyard, on the rooftop terrace, in the hammock or even by the fire. The welcome dinner is home cooking delight: a choice of salads nice chicken olive-lemon tajine. Local breakfast with crepes is served, bread butter, jam and honey, you just ask the staff in the kitchen for your hot drink. We highly recommend this gem, to visit the maze of colours, friendly smiles and to log off from it all for a few days, you still have wifi on the ground floor for your peace of mind. No room locks or keys, no problem, yet be prepared.

Room Tip: the Prune room on first floor overlooks the courtyard and there was a hammock across.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuriaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#268 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#106 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#74 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#38 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Mnabha
Maison Mnabha
#496 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#98 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Magellan Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan Yoga

Property: Riad Magellan Yoga
Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 5 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. Riad Magellan offers a plunge-pool in its courtyard and a free access wifi connexion Airport-riad transfers, Moroccan lucnhes or dinners, massages and yoga sessions upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Magellan Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing