We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Formidable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Magellan to your Saves list
Riad Magellan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Formidable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

From beginning to end, undoubtedly one of the best accommodations I have ever stayed in. The staff have gone above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. From showing us how to cook a traditional tagine to serving up candle light dinners at the riad! Every experience here has been amazing! The riad is set in the heart of the medina, perfect location! However, once inside the riad walls, you find nothing but tranquility and peacefulness! The owner and all his staff have been honest, helpful and incredibly kind. I have never written a review before to trip advisor, however, this experience has really inspired me to pay it forward. Such a fantastic gem, that I wholeheartedly recommend! Hannah and Pete, UK/Australia

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahStevens28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    95
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
128
476
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The service is friendly and professional. The location is right in the medina, which is very nice for tourism. The place is beautiful. All suggestions we got from the owner for food and sightseeing were also very valuable. We will be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grs187323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just finished 2 stays with Riad Magellan. We had red room which was quite nice being a loft style bedroom with entrance and sunken bathroom. Had to watch the shower as got hot but presentation and cleanliness vey nice. Location quite handy to souks and main square with only a couple of minutes either way. We had beautiful dinner first night which remained a highlight food wise. Staff and Philippe were all very good and helpful. We can recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: red room nice but didn't see any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

From before we even arrived in Marrekech, through to after we left, Phillipe and his staff at Riad Magellan made my sister and I feel totally at home, and completely pampered. Fantastic in-house service at the stunning little riad with even a Masseus that come to visit me!!! Gorgeous rooftop views and incredibly friendly staff serving us breakfast lunch and dinner as needed. The doorman even offered to walk and pick us when we went out for dinner in a bit of a rough spot.. He walked us all the home chatting and happy even though it was quite late. I felt like a local with secret knowledge about our surrounding area from day one. Thanks so much Phillipe... we will come back to stay if we are ever in Marrakech again!! xx Melo Howard Sisters

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was an incredible experience from the beginning till the end. To start with, the place is beautiful, the cleanliness of the rooms was excellent, the location couldn't be better, no complaints about the service...and one more thing which is very important for me, the food (Breakfast & dinner) was spectacular! and we had the chance to see how they prepared the food in the kitchen, and we were given the recipes. That was a very nice small detail...and small details make businesses bigger!!!

If I went back to Marrakech, there is no doubt that I will go straight to Riad Magellan!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fes, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent riad, very clean and a lot of attention to detail, good value, fantastic service, very helpful owner and staff, who help you navigate the maze of Marrakech. A quiet place in the chaos of the medina. Transport to and from the station was arranged and Our luggage was transported and all we had to do is follow the wagon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lava K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I felt compelled to write a review about our recent trip to Marrakech. We travelled as part of a wedding party and were very pleased to be placed in the welcoming hands of Philippe and Stephanie, the hands-on owners of the Riad.

Despite being a stone's throw from the bustling markets, Riad Magellan is a calm, serene, picturesque environment with lots of cosy places to sit and unwind. The rooms are comfortable and clean and authentically Moroccan throughout.

Trust in the calming Philippe to look after you in any way he can (be it a late breakfast, late checkout, taxis, airport transfers) not to mention his superb recommendations which thoroughly enhanced our trip (the Spa he recommend was superb).

Our trip was brief, but made even more memorable by Philippe and his friendly, attentive staff. If we ever return, we will no doubt visit Riad Magellan (and of course the Spa!)

Incidentally, if you’ll be visiting Marrakesh for the first time, don’t be put off by the meandering walk to access the Riad - it’s typical of the Morrocan Maze that is Marrakesh (and Philippe will go through the various landmarks so you can easily find your way!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panache_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#87 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Kounouz
Dar Al Kounouz
#101 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad El Zohar
Riad El Zohar
#14 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#8 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#52 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#106 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Property: Riad Magellan
Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 5 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. Riad Magellan offers a plunge-pool in its courtyard and a free access wifi connexion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing