We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Magellan
Ranked #68 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were part of wedding guests and my parents were staying at Riad Magellan . I have to compliment the staff on the excellent service they provided in looking after my family especially my father who was disabled. I am afraid being part of the wedding guest we were in and out of the Riad and have to thank the staff for their patience. It is located in the Medina which gave us easy access to the venues.
Well done to Phillpe and his staff for making us feel welcome .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurinderP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    95
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
128
477
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Yes, it's as lovely as everyone says. The friendly owner, Phillipe, and his superb staff Adil and Mohammed are very knowledgeable and more than helpful. You can't find a better place to stay in Marrakech.

We found the rooms comfortable, very clean and the whole Riad atmosphere so relaxing. It is perfectly situated in the medina - a short walk to everything, and the cost, more than fair.

We are so appreciative of all the assistance we received. They accommodated our every request.

We purchased three rugs at a store that didn’t ship. Adil went with us to the local post office and helped us set up shipment to the US. Magellan’s stellar cooking staff accommodated my special request to indulge in goat head for our evening meal and Mohammed taught me how to eat it.

We recommend Riad Magellan to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were in Marrakech on holiday and attending a wedding at the same time. Together with our friends we were renting the whole riad. Riad Magellan was an excellent place to stay with elegant rooms and numerous seating areas. It is right in the Medina - full of atmosphere and character, within easy reach of the shops and Jemaa el Fnaa.

The breakfast was very well prepared and gave us a good start every morning. Thanks to Philippe and the team, Adil, Fatuma, Amina and Mohammed, they were very good hosts and looked after us very well. No request seemed to faze them, everything was delivered with a smile and good humour. Inspite of our trip being busy we felt very relaxed and will definitely go back for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SukhpalG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at both Riad Magellen and a sister Riad (Riad Majala). Both were charming and beautiful and helped make our stay in Marrakesh. Both are burried in a series of derbs (alleys) but we never had any real difficulty finding and the locations added to the magical effect of walking through the door of the riads.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan_and_Dan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If visiting Marrakech, the only place to stay is in the Riads within the city's old walls. Last thing you want to do is stay at the colorless big chain hotels when in Marrakech. The Riads are beautiful palaces hidden behind decrepit walls and tiny doors - you would never expect such an oasis of ornaments, Moroccan architecture, beautiful inner courts and rooftop terraces when you are standing outside ringing the doorbell.

We stayed at the Magellan for a friend's wedding in March. Location is perfect just seconds away from the main square and shopping streets (mainly colourful outdoor markets selling anything from spices, jewelry, meat, fruits to the usual set of fake LV bags and Buddha heads). Staff is incredibly friendly and the rooms all have a genuine Arabic feel to them. When you are fed up of hanging out in your room, you can laze around the inner courts or terraces and sip some sweet mint tea while smoking a shisha... What more can you ask for?

Ah yes well If you are hungry (and I mean really hungry) - ask for the Mechoui. Best lamb I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dvaputnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wonderful Riad! everything was so perfect. We had a perfect stay in Riad Magellan.

We rented the whole riad for our wedding.

The Riad is located in the medina, near the place Jemaa el Fna. It is a real haven of peace in marrakech.
The staff is great and 100% dedicated to all your needs! and do not leave without trying their superb Tajine!
Special thanks to Philippe the owner and Adil!

Xavier et Laure

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in the Riad for only 1 night before we flew back home.

However, we wish we could have stayed longer. Although it is hard to find like most riads in Marrakech Philippe gives you great directions which aren't just "turn left, turn right, turn left" etc.! This is the first example of how this place goes the extra mile to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

The room was great, with a mezzanine level bedroom a beautiful bathroom. It is a stunning riad with plenty of style and home comforts. There are lots of nooks and crannies to relax in and we couldn't get over how quiet it was on the roof terrace.

The breakfast was delicious and any extras like bottles of water were really great value. This makes a massive difference as sometimes you can end up with a surprise bill at the end. We wanted to go for hammam and Philippe took us there in person and recommended places for lunch etc.

We couldn't fault it. The riad is beautifully designed too.

Thanks for a great stay Philppe and team.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#82 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Kounouz
Dar Al Kounouz
#103 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad El Zohar
Riad El Zohar
#14 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#8 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#52 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#99 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Property: Riad Magellan
Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 5 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. Riad Magellan offers a plunge-pool in its courtyard and a free access wifi connexion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing