We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best in town...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Magellan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Magellan
Ranked #82 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in town...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you look for a real Medina experience. If you want to stay in a beautiful, warm, elegant, clean riad. If you want to be able to go back to a bubble of peace and harmony after venturing the loud and sometimes chaotic streets of Marrakesh. If you want to be treated like you are an old family friend. Then, check out Philippe and Stephanie's riad. You won't regret it.
Having breakfast on the roof is a treat.
Philippe took the time to welcome us and to give us really good tips on how to make our stay in Marroco amazing. Some people just know how to run a facility and do it with grace and talent. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayounaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    96
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
130
479
39
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at Riad Magellan over a weekend during my first visit to Marrakech. Owner Philippe was extremely helpful when we arrived, giving us a map that became our survival tool to not getting lost in the maze of narrow, winding streets! His recommendations of places to see and where to eat and drink were also greatly appreciated. The riad is in an excellent location, with everything you want to see within just a few minutes walking distance. The riad is charming and the rooms are very comfortable and provide excellent value for money! All the staff were extremely courteous and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent three nights in December in Riad Magellan and had a wonderful time. The breakfast was great; my daughter loved the orange juice and fresh yoghurt. Phillipe was a great host who showed us how to navigate the medina and even took us on foot to the souk where they sell slippers we were looking for. The dinner at the Riad on the night of our arrival was also worth it. One word of advice would be to spend the 15 euros for the transfer from the airport to the hotel; it would have been impossible for us to find the hotel the first time by ourselves in the maze that is Medina. Start your vacation right by using this service. Also, go to sleep early because the call to prayers from the nearby Mouassine mosque will probably wake you up at 5:30. I thought that the call was beautiful and a complete cultural experience. You will hear this any place you stay in Medina. You could stay at Gueliz to avoid it, but then you would be missing the essence of Marrakech.

This place deserves all the accolades it gets.

Room Tip: Red room was great for a family of three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Riad Magellan is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the Medina of Marrakech. Excellent location, walking distance from the main must see in Marrakech.The service is impeccable and the sfaff very friendly ready to help you with information and practical arrangements. the Riad itself is beautifully decorated with attention to details, definitively it is very good value for money. the room rate includes a nice Moroccan typcal breakfast. My friends and I spent a magical weekend in Marrakech and we will definitifely choose Riad Magellan again next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at Riad Magellan last November. The weather was great and we enjoyed the Riad. Lovely mint tea and great breakfast every morning with delicious home made Moroccan pancakes. It's bit tricky to find so I suggest you pay good attention to the two different ways to get there or memorize one of them really well. We suggest you have someone to pick you up on arrival to avoid getting lost. Apart from that is really well located and and the roof terrace is very pleasant at the end of the day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room that has two single beds, small room but enough for friends or a couple t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cerquinho30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent and friendly service, cosy and decorated rooms, very clean and perfectly located. If you need a dinner for a late arrival or a early breakfast, they prepare all you need for you. Bedding, bathrooms and shared areas are comfortable, one just feels..at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was my second stay at this Riad, and once more it was a fantastic one! Most reviews already sum up all the great things one can say about this little gem. It's clean, service is spot on, the owner Philippe and his team are fantastic hosts, and it's located in a great area. Unfortunately this time my trip ended really bad for me as I got food poisoning from a pick nick at Lake Takerkoust. However Philippe and his manager Adil were extremely supportive and took very good care of me. I felt safe and not home sick at all. After I got back home Philippe even sent an email to check on me, asking if my flight home was ok. It's those little things that make a place memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#89 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#86 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad El Zohar
Riad El Zohar
#16 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aloes
Riad Aloes
#40 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#106 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Property: Riad Magellan
Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 5 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. Riad Magellan offers a plunge-pool in its courtyard and a free access wifi connexion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing