We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just great”
Review of Riad Magellan Yoga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Magellan Yoga
Ranked #129 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just great”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent and friendly service, cosy and decorated rooms, very clean and perfectly located. If you need a dinner for a late arrival or a early breakfast, they prepare all you need for you. Bedding, bathrooms and shared areas are comfortable, one just feels..at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    96
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
130
481
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was my second stay at this Riad, and once more it was a fantastic one! Most reviews already sum up all the great things one can say about this little gem. It's clean, service is spot on, the owner Philippe and his team are fantastic hosts, and it's located in a great area. Unfortunately this time my trip ended really bad for me as I got food poisoning from a pick nick at Lake Takerkoust. However Philippe and his manager Adil were extremely supportive and took very good care of me. I felt safe and not home sick at all. After I got back home Philippe even sent an email to check on me, asking if my flight home was ok. It's those little things that make a place memorable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I just got back from my first solo trip abroad, as well as my first visit to Morocco, and my stay at Riad Magellan definitely help make it a memorable experience. This beautiful guesthouse is nestled in the heart of the hectic maze of streets in the medina, and offers a calm and comfortable break from the wonderful chaos outside. I stayed in the beige room--it was clean and offered more than enough space (the room temperature was perfect, not too hot or cold at night, and the bathroom was nice as well with good water pressure from the shower). The rest of the space was exotic and peaceful, with rose petals floating in a small pool in the middle of the ground floor and a lovely terrace up top. The owner, Phillipe, was very accommodating and helpful (he helped arranged transport to and from the airport, along with a day trip to the Atlas Mountains), and the whole staff was very hospitable. Breakfast (included in the price) was delicious and satisfying. Overall, it was easily one of the best stays abroad I've ever experienced, and I look forward to returning to both Marrakech and Riad Magellan in the near future with some friends in tow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Riad Magellan is a tranquil oasis in the centre of the Marrakech medina. It has captured the essence of Marrakech – the warmth and hospitality of its people and the exotic character of the Moroccan culture. We might have had a momentary lapse of confidence along the narrow winding lanes to the riad had it not been the friendly assistance of our porter and the fabulous welcome from Adil whose wonderful directions restored our spirit of adventure. The riad is centrally located and is close to the Jamaa el-fna, the souks, palaces and many other sites.

Beautiful breakfasts (and on one evening, an amazing dinner) were served with such attentiveness, discretion and respect that we felt like honoured guests. And after days exploring and sightseeing it was pure pleasure to return to the comfort of the riad where lanterns glowed with candlelight and soft music mingled with the delicate scent of incense.

We very much appreciated the assistance of Philippe and Adil in arranging bookings and day trips and their recommendations were excellent.

A small touch which I loved was the book of Moroccan Tales which I found in my room and which I enjoyed reading during my stay.

Room Tip: The blue room had the big advantage in that there are no steps to negotiate with luggage. A little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We travel to Morrocco often always stopping in Marrakech for a couple of days and without fail now head straight for Riad Magellan. It's right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the souk, but once inside you fine an oasis of calm, peace and quiet. The rose petals floating in little pools of water in the middle of the courtyard where we have our breakfast, the comfortable rooms and the biggest welcome possible from the happy and helpful staff. After a day of endless walking and haggling to return to Riad Magellan and sit under the olive tree whilst they bring you mint tea and delicious biscuits is just magic. They'll tell you the best places to eat and give you little pointers to prevent you getting lost. We can't recommend it highly enough, thank you Philippe and team.
Penny and Ernie Tomlinson.

Room Tip: Ask if you can sleep upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Phillipe was a perfect host who speaks very good English and is an absolute Legend.
He gave us loads of info and advice for good places to eat and drink and was so easy to speak to.
Good central location in the heart of the Medina 2min walk from the square.
The room was lovely, clean and spacious as was the rest of the beautiful, traditional Riad.
All the staff were very accommodating and friendly.
Felt very safe and such a refuge from the madness of Marrakesh!!!!
As a young English couple speaking no French it was a very pleasant ,romantic stay .
STAY HERE!!!! DON'T STAY IN A BIG HOTEL OUT OF TOWN!!!!!! 10/10

Max Mulligan Norwich UK

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Riad Magellan for a long weekend in Marrakech in October 2012. From the moment I arrived, I was well looked after and everything about the accommodation was fabulous. We stayed in two different rooms over the weekend and both were clean and well set up with the basic amenities. The common areas of the Riad were cozy and full of character and atmosphere. The service was fabulous. The recommendations for where to go and what to do were perfect and the general feeling of the place was very comfortable and familial. I would highly recommend the place to anyone going to Marrakech and would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herv_username
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#73 of 1,139 in Marrakech
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al-Bushra
Riad Al-Bushra
#4 of 1,139 in Marrakech
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Housnia
Dar Housnia
#220 of 1,139 in Marrakech
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#32 of 1,139 in Marrakech
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#41 of 1,139 in Marrakech
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Zaman
Riad Dar Zaman
#65 of 1,139 in Marrakech
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Magellan Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan Yoga

Property: Riad Magellan Yoga
Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 5 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. Riad Magellan offers a plunge-pool in its courtyard and a free access wifi connexion Airport-riad transfers, Moroccan lucnhes or dinners, massages and yoga sessions upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Magellan Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing