We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Back for the third time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Magellan
Ranked #78 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back for the third time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We travel to Morrocco often always stopping in Marrakech for a couple of days and without fail now head straight for Riad Magellan. It's right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the souk, but once inside you fine an oasis of calm, peace and quiet. The rose petals floating in little pools of water in the middle of the courtyard where we have our breakfast, the comfortable rooms and the biggest welcome possible from the happy and helpful staff. After a day of endless walking and haggling to return to Riad Magellan and sit under the olive tree whilst they bring you mint tea and delicious biscuits is just magic. They'll tell you the best places to eat and give you little pointers to prevent you getting lost. We can't recommend it highly enough, thank you Philippe and team.
Penny and Ernie Tomlinson.

Room Tip: Ask if you can sleep upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    95
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
129
477
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Phillipe was a perfect host who speaks very good English and is an absolute Legend.
He gave us loads of info and advice for good places to eat and drink and was so easy to speak to.
Good central location in the heart of the Medina 2min walk from the square.
The room was lovely, clean and spacious as was the rest of the beautiful, traditional Riad.
All the staff were very accommodating and friendly.
Felt very safe and such a refuge from the madness of Marrakesh!!!!
As a young English couple speaking no French it was a very pleasant ,romantic stay .
STAY HERE!!!! DON'T STAY IN A BIG HOTEL OUT OF TOWN!!!!!! 10/10

Max Mulligan Norwich UK

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Riad Magellan for a long weekend in Marrakech in October 2012. From the moment I arrived, I was well looked after and everything about the accommodation was fabulous. We stayed in two different rooms over the weekend and both were clean and well set up with the basic amenities. The common areas of the Riad were cozy and full of character and atmosphere. The service was fabulous. The recommendations for where to go and what to do were perfect and the general feeling of the place was very comfortable and familial. I would highly recommend the place to anyone going to Marrakech and would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herv_username
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I can't rate my stay at Riad Magellan highly enough. I spent 5 nights here, a couple on my own before a friend joined me. The Riad is beautifully appointed, with stylish rooms and lots of common areas to lounge around and relax. The staff were absolutely wonderful, always at the ready to help with any questions or queries or to serve up a pot of mint tea! The riad is perfectly located, tucked away down a quiet alley in the heart of the medina, minutes from the main square Jemaa el Fna and the souks. I couldn't have imagined a lovelier place to stay, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaseygbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a delightful place to stay, right in the heart of Marrakech's Medina. We stayed for three nights. The staff were great. The owner Philippe was on hand to give excellent advice about getting around and local places to eat. Splendid breakfasts, Morocco style, and a terrific tajine one evening cooked exclusively for us. Fabulous roof terrace to relax, plus a small outdoor and discreet jacussi. You'll need a guide to find the Riad Magellan but, once there, this is a haven of peace and tranquility amongst the chaos, madness and delight that is Marrakech. Go for it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magelma, Propriétaire at Riad Magellan, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,


I wish to thank you for posting this nice review: it is very rewarding to get such a feedback for we, the team and myself, did our best to make your stay enjoyable. We constantly try to give as much value (best location / professional service / excellent meals / useful information on the red city) as possible for reasonable prices. Have a nice day!

Philippe
The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

outstanding riad for location and service. beautiful rooms, excellent staff for whom nothing is too much trouble-added bonus is that the proprieter is on hand to answer your every question and come up with recommendations. delicious breakfast also included. fantastic roof terrace to relax on after a long day in the souks and musuems. take the offer of an airport transfer (euros 18) to ensure you arrive stress-free. its easy to find but only once youve been shown the way-taxis do not take you up to the front door, but your porter will,its only a short walk from where the chauffer drops you off.
i can understand why hundreds of people have recommended this riad and it was on their advice that i chose it. it would be mad not.
thank you riad magellan. ps we went with two teenagers but also v suitable and romantic for couples

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSmith2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I were recently in Marrakech for one night for business and stayed at Riad Magellan. We were very well looked after by Philippe and his staff and found the location very convenient to the souks, restaurants and the square. Also not too far to walk from the place they suggest you park your car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#121 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#69 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#90 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#20 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
#217 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad El Zohar
Riad El Zohar
#13 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Property: Riad Magellan
Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 5 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. Riad Magellan offers a plunge-pool in its courtyard and a free access wifi connexion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing