We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Magellan Yoga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Magellan Yoga
Ranked #120 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed in the Red Room at Riad Magellan in Marrakech at the end of January - perfect location just five minutes from the main square but far enough away to forget the hurly-burly that is Marrakech! The Red Room was very comfortable - a couple of heaters kept the room warm on the winter nights and the shower was lovely and hot. A good job that Marrakech is mainly a dry city as the steep stairs up to the bed may have been more interesting after a couple of drinks rather than the Berber whiskey (mint tea).. Very comfortable and friendly stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cateale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Riad Magellan Yoga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 922 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a delight, after searching through various travel journels and publications of where to stay in Marrakech we were delighted with our choice at Riad Magellan. The Lonely Planet author needs to re-word her description though, a hot-tub on the roof is certainly miss-leading, I would say a traditional Moroccan bath. This place is lovely and offers a boutique experience in one of the more pleasant neighbourhoods of the Souq. You won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: The plum room offers more natural daylight than the orange, both are on the higher levels of the Ria...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orkyouree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Walking through the allies in the Medina u won't expect such a nice, quiet and peacefull place. This is worth every diram and the owner is very frindly

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
Thank martijn_van_gestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

After a friendly welcome, we settled in to the Red Room, which although relatively small, is extremely attractive, and has a fabulous bathroom. We only stayed one night, but even so the staff couldn't have been more hospitable - in addition to the owner Philippe, the Manager Adil was particularly charming, friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you like a deep bath, choose the Red Room!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The Riad is extremely well located and Phillippe and his staff are always so kind and ready to drop you off or guide you to the places you need to get to.
I think may be we had very high expectations of the place as we had read all these great reviews. I think the Riad is good but not great. Maybe we were really spoilt at the last Riad we stayed at in Fez and expected Riad Magellan to be on par with the previous one.
We stayed in the beige room and we felt it was a little damp and cold. The shower head was lop sided and weak. There is no shampoo/conditioner available. Phillipe was kind enough to give us a hair dryer upon request. Also, there is no safe in the room and there are no door locks. With that being said the staff is really trustworthy and nothing went missing.
All in all our stay there was pretty good, Phillipe will take good care of you.
Maybe it's just the beige room that issues, cos I don't see anyone else complaining :)

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Najia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My friend and I arrived at the Riad Magellan after being on the road for 5 days, touring the Atlas and beyond. What a wonderful place to spend our last couple of days. Serene and peaceful with great tunes wafting around in the background. We were welcomed with mint tea and nibbles and sat in the courtyard whilst our bags were taken to the Blue Room. To be so close to the vibrancy of Jemma Al Fna, yet secluded in a calm santuary was heavenly! Best of both worlds. The staff were fabulous, so respectful and friendly, nothing would have been too much. Decor and art was tasteful and well thought out, with a great roof space for chilling, or as we did, sat chatting by the fire(!). Phillippe and his team have most definately thought this through and provide an idyllic place to while a few days away. We will be back....with friends! THANK YOU

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have been at Magellan for three nights. It´s been a pleasure staying in this Riad. The Riad is well located, clean, and nice. The manager is really kind and helpful. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Meriem
Riad Meriem
#251 of 502 in Marrakech
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de Mouassine
Les Jardins de Mouassine
#365 of 1,160 in Marrakech
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Up
Riad Up
#400 of 1,160 in Marrakech
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
#114 of 1,160 in Marrakech
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#20 of 1,160 in Marrakech
517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#75 of 1,160 in Marrakech
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Magellan Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan Yoga

Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $70 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 5 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. Riad Magellan offers a plunge-pool in its courtyard and a free access wifi connexion Airport-riad transfers, Moroccan lucnhes or dinners, massages and yoga sessions upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Magellan Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing