We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Something to experience at least once in your life.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Marrakech

Medina of Marrakech
Book In Advance
$64*
and up
Private Tour: Medina Shopping Tour in Marrakech
Ranked #9 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something to experience at least once in your life.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Strolling through crowded souks and haggling for better prices is not my cup of tea, but still being in the medina is a worthy experience. For me it was most interesting at dusk, especially the main square.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,529
    3,077
    1,015
    262
    215
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dangerous shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very exotic men also extremely noisy with constantly scooters,motorbikes,bicycles and animaltransport throuh the tiny souks.Very frustating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lfliv83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moroccan culture at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Medina is lovely, so much to see and buy, so it can get confusing. Offer the stall/ Shop keepers at least 2/3 to 1/2 of the price...really barter with them and they will give u a good price.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAsa_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Overrated!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Medina is supposed to be the heart and soul of Marrakech, but I didn’t like it. It was as busy as I had expected, but it wasn’t clean. I felt slightly unsafe; I thought my pockets were going to be picked at any point. I thought the stalls (before I visited it) were going to be of a better quality, but they were all very samey and sold lots of oranges. And the street entertainment I thought was going to be more talented, only there were dodgy blokes with monkeys and snake charmers, that didn’t look very charming. My preconceived ideas spoilt it and I am perplexed why travel channels sell it so much! It’s not all that!

The souks on the other hand were really nice. I would love to have bought a few things; only I couldn’t take them home in the plane due to the size of items they were selling.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa-Marie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“'Hard' walking...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

..because on allmost every meter of our walking somebody wanted to sell us something. Mostly polite merchants but some of them were quite agressive...
But despite of all it was very interesting and fascinating... lot of narrow and very narrow streets, like a real labyrinth, lot of people and domestic animals beginning from dogs and cats, finishing with donkeys, monkeys, horses and camels...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 0swald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing