We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lost and Found”

Medina of Marrakesh
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.59*
and up
Moroccan Cooking Class in the Medina of Marrakech
Ranked #11 of 159 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Medina of Marrakesh is the place to be when you are in the red city. Medina of Marrakesh provides severel tours and activities from Marrakesh. Our team will be pleased to meet and great you.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Food available for purchase
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lost and Found”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Medina is such an amazing experience! The sights, smells, sounds around you are unbelievable! We never thought we'd find our way back to our riad because the twists and turns of the streets are so confusing! Shopping in the souks was quite the experience! Nothing has a price on it and everyone wants to sell you something. Loved seeing the snake charmers in the square...it's something you read about since you're a little kid and to see it in real life is quite the experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank parrotgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,772
    3,832
    1,262
    331
    271
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“You Have to Visit the Medina!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Others have said it all. However, I do believe it's a must, love it or hate it! Step back in time and savour it all.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Take a guide as you will get lost guaranteed!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very expensive compared to China (pashmina $8 in china and $20 in Marrakech). Europe is struggling financially so it is showing in the Marrakesh prices. Lots of rugs, pillows, silver jewellery and heaps of imitation bags, sunglasses and sand shoes. Their hand made leather slippers were very unique. 1 day is more than enough in the old town. I wouldn't take small children to Marrakech due to sanitary conditions or eat salads or fruit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FiveStarTraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you get lost, ask a shopkeeper”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I loved it, but then I like being in a place where things haven't changed much for hundreds of years. If you get directed by 'helpful' guides to a distant part of the souk and get lost, don't panic, just ask any of the shop keepers. They are helpful, polite and will tell you how to get out of the souk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 412Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shops and store are lovely but.....”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a whale of an experience in Medina meeting some lovely people and good bargains in the vicinity. The touting is on another level which borders on harassment but apart from that the buzzing atmosphere is a must visit area. Also let me warn you there is always a bad smell in the area where the open square is I think it is due to the poor drainage system.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing