We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”

Medina of Marrakesh
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.19*
and up
Moroccan Cooking Class in the Medina of Marrakech
Ranked #11 of 159 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Medina of Marrakesh is the place to be when you are in the red city. Medina of Marrakesh provides severel tours and activities from Marrakesh. Our team will be pleased to meet and great you.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I loved that medina. During the day one can brows its narrow streets, visiting shops and endless bazaars. At night the main square comes to life as people navigate toward the exotic aromas and the entertaining sights. There is always something to see: snake charmers, acrobats, sooth-sayers, musicians and food stalls. For more information visit alextravelblog.com

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,790
    3,842
    1,264
    332
    271
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lunch by the pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is lovely and the gardens very attractive- we were offered the "full lunch menu" as not guests who were being given poolside snack menu. In for a very expensive lunch which was beautifully presented and was delicous but let down by state of canopy style umbrellas which could have done with a clean!
Visit if you want a romantic meal but be prepared for expense.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Colourful, noisy, intense, chaotic mayhem - but very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The medina is very enjoyable and we stayed within the Medina at Riad Nashira. There is lots to see and do to enjoy the Souks and bartering with the locals to buy your items can be fun. Whilst it’s fun at first it actually does get a little tiresome after a few days of it but that’s just the way business is done in the Souk. The Medina is safe and you should have no problems walking around beyond the constant barrage of greetings from traders willing you into their shops. To enjoy the Medina even more, we hired a guide through the Riad who walked us around the Medina on a 4 hour walking trip and took us to lots of interesting places including lots of alleys, streets and areas that I wouldn’t have thought of walking down without a local. But this meant we got to see some amazing parts of the Medina off the beaten track where dyes were being made, and all kind of metal and leather work was being done by locals churning out the goods.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MR-Dublin-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very busy, colourfull and a real labyrinth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The medina is a must see, because of the variety of goods on sale there. You also see handcraftsmen at work. Pity that you can not just wander around and see for yourself as within some seconds someone comes up to you trying to buy you anything (you don't really need). You also need a guide to find your way through this labyrinth (we did) and take care, anyone seeing you lost in this small streets and coming up to you to help you expects some dirham for their kindness. Even if you didn't ask them to lead you all the way to one or another site, they just go ahead some metres before you, look back from time to times if you are still going in the same direction and at the end ask (demand) a 'contribution'. I suppose when you see the scale of poverty in some parts of this town, its normal that one hopes to earn his living in doing so.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marckh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Touristy, But Worth a Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our experience might be a little different than most because we elected to tour the endless stalls of the Medina with a local guide--a tip I'd recommend if you want to get an overview of the area before venturing off on your own.

The Medina is a very confusing maze where you can purchase everything from jewelery to olives and lamps. Our guide gave us prices we should pay and found that nearly everything we inquired about was 3-4x more expensive. Beautiful and elaborate caftans, for instance, were being sold for $80-100 here. While in Ville Nouvelle (new town, just 5-10 minutes outside the Medina), these could be purchased for about $20-25.

We didn't experience aggressive sales tactics and even though I was wearing a sundress, I didn't feel I was getting unwelcome attention. In general, I'd say 75% of Western female tourists wore shorts and tank tops (if not less) and it didn't really turn heads.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank templebar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing