We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Marrakech

Medina of Marrakech
Book In Advance
$27.41*
and up
Medina Shopping Tour in Marrakech
Ranked #10 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you are in Marrakech then it is difficult to avoid visiting the Medina. It is well worth the time taken to visit. It wasn't what we expected but, on reflection, we decided that we were not very sure what we expected anyway. The huge square was vibrant with activity and noise when we arrived. It was full of people so we decided to walk around the edge of the throng. There were crowds of people, locals and visitors, gathered around groups of traditional musicians and dancers performing in the square. There were lots of souvenir stalls in the square but we didn't bother. Apparently visitors have to haggle on every price. We had never seen so many fresh orange juice sellers in one place. The Souk is in the Medina and there visitors will find the narrow streets with thousands of shops selling everything from beautiful pottery, leather and carpets to a variety of knock-off sports goods and trinkets. The spice sellers, who appear to be imprisoned inside their colourful stalls, should not be missed. There are lots of places to eat in the Medina and visitors should shop around for the best value.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelNua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,730
    3,217
    1,071
    270
    227
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not for the weak traveler.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Come prepared. Money in your pocket, everyone will ask you , the snake charmers, the "musicians", the monkey man, if you even look or heaven forbid take a picture, be ready to pay-up! And whatever you give, they will always ask for more! The food stands call you constantly as do all the other stands you walk by. Exhausting! The traffic is insane, no rules, NONE!
Having said that, it is something to see, if only once. The craziness is somewhat entertaining.
Try the fresh squeezed orange juice, delicious. Dont try the tea at the stands, its a herb mixed said to have "Special " powers. taste awful too. If you can, go sit in a cafe thats on an upper terrace and enjoy the madness from above!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleL972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Was ok, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Was expecting more. best was the food stalls, maybe i need to go to experience it again, but it didnt make me want to rush back.

did pick up a nice belt though lol, i have been told to go fes instead

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Don't miss this, you cannot go to Marrakech and not see the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went to the Medina in the daytime which was excellent, but I wish we had had time to visit it in the evening. The markets are very interesting and the amount of hassle reported on Trip Advisor is overstated, we were not unduly hassled, in Morocco you are bound to be approached but it was minimal compared to what we were expecting. The most fascinating part of the Medina was the warren of little narrow streets behind the market with doors in the walls through which people in robes appeared or disappeared, very atmospheric! Don't miss it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kraftterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Learn to haggle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Avoid taking pictures of monkey/snake charmers! They WILL charge you. Don't buy from first stall - the next 10 stalls will sell exactly the same thing! But all in all, enjoy the experience and don't be scared.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karim1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing