We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Marrakech

Medina of Marrakech
Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$64*
and up
Private Tour: Medina Shopping Tour in Marrakech
Ranked #9 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great experience, even better if you have a guide as very eady to get lost. If you do get lost , ask in a shop for direction, not someone from the street

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shimicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,509
    3,065
    1,010
    262
    215
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shopping heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wow we love the souq. There is lots on offer and lots of bartering and bargains to be had. You must be firm but fair. If you dont really want something dont get into a conversation over it or you may face some hostility just say firmly No Thankyou. La shukra. and walk away. You can have a good banter with the traders just dont waste their time or they may let you know about it. Not a passtime for shy and retiring people. Lots of fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A map won't help, but it's a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The medina is a huge maze of streets, shops and small workshops making all sorts of items. The main square comes Alice at night, and is truly a spectacle. We were able to navigate the 15 minute walk to the square, but getting back was another story. We stopped to ask for help a number of times, but it seems that no one can read a map. Eventually, we gave up and were able to get onto a street with taxis, but the driver didn't really know how to read the map or understand where we needed to go. He kept stopping to ask people for directions. Eventually, we made it back to a nearby gate that we recognized.

There is a lot of moped traffic within the medina which makes walking tricky. The sights are really interesting. We loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jelyapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

An absolute must visit...we went on a guided tour and would recommend this as its so easy to get lost.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank warobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

loved the hustle and bustle. So many interesting things to look at. Great people watching sitting in a cafe watching everything going on. It was great having my brother and sister in law who speak French.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sjerhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing