We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful private tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morocco Active Adventures

Morocco Active Adventures
Ranked #3 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are an attraction that offers sports and camps.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful private tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family had an absolutely wonderful 4 day trip into the desert. We contacted Youssef about a trip from Fes to Marrakech and he arranged a wonderful itinerary. In particular, our guide Omar was excellent; he had a great eye for sights and obviously knew the area extremely well. As we learned, he grew up in the region where we traveled, and his love for the area really shone through during our trip. He showed us local schools and businesses they were helping to support, and it was really touching to see him and Youssef giving back so much to the Berber communities where they grew up. We spent a night out in Berber tents in the Sahara, another night far off the beaten track in the desert (after a day of off-roading), and a third night in the Dades Valley. Our driver was excellent as well; never once did I feel like we were unsafe or out-of-control, even though we drove nearly 100km through the desert with no roads in sight.

The price of the trip was incredibly reasonable -- much cheaper than if we had tried to book individual hotels and travel. More importantly, the company and the guide treated us like family, helping us bargain, recommending local specialties, and sharing stories from their own lives and experiences. No one ever pushed us to buy anything, unlike the guides in Fes and Marrakech. I will certainly be recommending this company to everyone I know traveling to Morocco.

One note: the desert areas we visited get quite cold in January, so bring warm clothes!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anduril171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I adored M.T.E's tour into the desert!!!

That's due in huge part to our wonderful tour guide and driver, Joussef. It feels like going on a road trip with a good friend - he really went out of his way to make sure our journey felt easy, effortless and personal. Originally from a Berber village in the desert we were exploring, Joussef introduced us to his mother, brothers, and extended network of Aunties. We were invited to have lunch and tea with them, a wonderful glimpse into Berber life. His mom even made us a special drink to try to help calm our rumbly tummies.

Joussef's English is excellent, and he was able to answer even our most obscure questions, point out things we could never get from a guide book (try and learn the special hand signal for Berber independence!) and introduced to some pretty amazing contemporary African music (a must for a long, desert road trip).

Part of the trip was spent off-roading into the desert, where we really felt like we were the only people for miles and miles. It was a special treat to get to fully experience the silence and remoteness of the landscape.

Riding the camels was delightful, and not just some posed picture - we must have ridden the camels for an hour at sunset into the Erg Chebbi, the magnificent dunes of the Sahara.

Not once were we pushed to buy anything - a huge relief from the tour guides in the cities.

We highly recommend M.T.E. and Joussef for a really personal POV of Morocco.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank superchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hire a taxi from the street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Make the tours with a private taxi driver. just find a taxi that is more like a mini van; his car more like a new one, and the cost will be much cheaper than your hotel tour. All drivers know the points of interest and will be glad to take you on tour. We went to the five water falls and climbed up the mountain. It was a great day if not the best.

There is also the hop on hop off tour bus the we take in every city we visit. It is a good ride between the main tourists attractions and you get to see the city in ease.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EscapeFromRiyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I've found this company on the tripadvisor - my first intuition was that I could trust these people and they didn't disappoint me...
I told Youssef what our idea was and he organized everything for us - they were very flexible to rearrange the whole trip when our luggage were delayed - not to mention the help they provided to get the lost baggage back.
We had a great guide, Abdul - he treated us as family (no exaggeration), took us everywhere, recommended original local places to eat and enjoy, told us interesting stories about everyday life, helped bargaining, but waited patiently when needed... Thanks again, Abdul!
I would choose this company again - they listen to your wishes and make your dream come true - even if that seems impossible :-)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank redbaron813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ouzoud waterfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

amazing.. bring your swimming suite.. don't settle for the first restaurants near the parking.. there are other with breathtaking view on the way down

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank perroceronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morocco Active Adventures also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Morocco Active Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing