We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a waiter or two more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Comptoir du Pacha

Le Comptoir du Pacha
Ranked #22 of 762 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Comptoir du Pacha est un restaurant de charme a l'entree de la Medina, non loin de l'ensemble artisanal et pres de la grande Mosquee de Bab Doukkala (entre la mosquee et Dar EL Bacha). Il dispose de 4 salles intimistes. 2 Salles esprit lounge au niveau du patio avec fontaines, une salle africaine et une salle marocaine au 1 er etage ainsi qu'une terrasse. Son Chef vous propose une cuisine marocaine fusion, inventive et totalement revisitee ainsi qu'une carte francaise et une carte italienne. Un menu et des formules du jour, une carte snack ainsi qu'une sélection de tapas en journée.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Needs a waiter or two more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ate at the restaurant on our second night in Marrakech as it was close to our hotel and so locating it wasn't a problem!

The food itself was excellent. A slightly different take on the Morrocan salads and tagines that you get elsewhere. Very tasty and relatively reasonably priced we thought.

One downside (as a number have already mentioned) is the service. One waiter (that we saw) covering two floors of a restaurant clearly isn't enough. That said, we ate early and weren't too affected by it.

Overall a very enjoyable meal and I would visit again if I returned to the city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank I_Catch_Dinosaurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecomptoirdupacha, Gérant at Le Comptoir du Pacha, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello and thank you very much for your nice comment about Le Comptoir du Pacha ! We're really glad that you enjoyed it since it's our main purpose !
You'll be welcome whenever you come back !
You're right about the waiters but we were already working on it since 1 of them had had to leave. And at this period of the year it was not that easy to try and find another good one. But we're happy to let you know that we found him.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    152
    41
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My favourite restaurant. So buzzy great food and the belly dancers are amazing! Great selection of cocktails, staff friendly but it is pricey so save for special occasion. You must book. Have nothing bad to say, accept if you are using a taxi to go home you will probably pay more as this is very much seen as an "in" restaurant!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The soup was fantastic, the meal of pasta ok. But didn't get the service. Two staff members running around trying to deal with all the customers while the Managers x2 did Nothing. The two waiters worked hard. At the end of the evening waited while the manager totaled up the wrong bill and then none of our credit cards would work. Would I recommend to visit? Maybe.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 22mozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you're looking for somewhere different to eat in Marrakech, Le Comptoir du Pacha will take some beating. If you don't know where it is, it will take some finding too!
We were staying at the Riad Malika so Le Comptoir was just round the corner. You could walk past it and never know it was there, as with most Moroccan buildings, it's all on the inside and when its closed, there's nothing to give it away. During opening hours (lunchtime and evenings) there's a small red carpet and a light outside - keep looking, it's worth it.
The decor inside is an eclectic mix of French and African, all very tasteful, creating the perfect atmosphere for dining.
The staff are welcoming and very friendly, Kim, the maitre'd was an excellent host.
The food was superb, an excellent menu with French, Italian and Moroccan dishes and a good selection of wines to choose from.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reddogphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The cook Saadia is fantastic !
Didier is very pleasant and welcomes you in his restaurant close to Dar e Bacha

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Comptoir du Pacha also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Comptoir du Pacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing