We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not so clean but an experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marrakech Souk

Marrakech Souk
Book In Advance
$23.00*
and up
Medina Guided Shopping Tour in Marrakech
Ranked #17 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beveren, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not so clean but an experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Went through the souks y guide. Think that is it necessary - then they leave you - otherwise they want all to take you into there store.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda640318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,902
    4,071
    1,779
    434
    346
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bimingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The souks were really nice. I would love to have bought a few things; only I couldn’t take them home on the plane due to the size of items they were selling. Lots of lovely lights, tagines and tea sets.

I did get hassled lots, but I just ignored the people and they went away.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-Marie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

If everybody in the world bought something here, there'd still be plenty left over!! Have never seen such a huge souq. Easy to get lost, but that's part of the fun. Loads of little eateries and local cafes - all very cheap and very good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant, but keep your wits about you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Its great just to wander around the stalls. Basically they are mostly selling the same sort of things, but slightly different stall to stall. When you have had enough wandering just stop for a cool drink in the square and watch the world go by. You must be aware that some of the stall holders can be a bit aggressive and my husband and Iwere literally conned into seeing the tannery when we stopped to look at a leather belt, and had a bit of trouble leaving when we didnt want anything and were told BY THE BOSS that the workers didnt earn much so we shold give him some money to give to them! He wasn't very pleasant about it, so beware

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank barrynlyn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You need to be strong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Fantastic colurs and atmosphere in the souks. You need to decide what you are willing to pay and stick by your decision. I was followed for ages by a man selling belts. His opening offer was 150 MAD, aventually I got 3 for 120 MAD. They were very good quality leather and I think I got a bargain, only time will tell. The Mopeds in the souks are so annoying, but it is their market. There must be hundreds of stalls, often grouped by type. So much pottery, which is very overpriced to start with, you need to be strong to drive the price down. Lots of vegetables and some disgusting cuts of meat and offal for the locals, no charge for the flies! From previous bitter experience avoid any offers from guides, they want a lot of money and can get nasty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Souk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing