We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Endless Berber history and artefacts....worthwhile visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Tiskiwin

Musee Tiskiwin
Book In Advance
$21.74*
and up
Marrakech Palaces and Monuments Tour
Ranked #30 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At this small, well organized, and informative museum, you’ll get the chance to learn about the history of Marrakech and the region in general. Stocked with artifacts from past centuries and other quality exhibits, you’ll leave feeling satisfied with your time spent there.
Newquay
Level Contributor
186 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Endless Berber history and artefacts....worthwhile visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

You'll need some directions to find this fascinating museum of Berber life. The building itself is a traditonal design. Its worthwhile visiting as part of a guided tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trulyreviewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    100
    32
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for the anthropologist in you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This Berber museum belongs to the Dutch anthropologist, Bert Flint. It is located in his riad, in the southern Medina. The collection is vast. On the entry you'll be given a guide to read as you walk trough the rooms. Very interesting and a must see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AgnieszkaTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting collection of artifacts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good value for money. Lots of artifacts to see in this private collection. We went here after Dar Si Saad as close by and then on to the palaces and Saadian tombs. All manageable in a morning.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting, private museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This private museum is set up to show the artifacts and cultures you would come across on a trek across the Sahara. Each room focuses on a different region or tribe, showcasing the wealth of cultures and traditions Morocco has to offer.

Although small, we spent a good hour exploring the exhibition, aided by the museum's little guide booklet, which was admittedly not that informative - I was glad I could read the original French text next to the various artifacts.

Yet, the museum gave a fascinating glimpse into what is there to explore and sure made me wish I could follow the route myself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank StyleHighClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“quiet, very charming little riad style.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are very lucky, this house is 2minutes walk from where we stayed. Quieter in the morning and you pay 20dh to go in. We did not learn very much about the history but I just liked to taking photos inside and enjoy the architecture. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pinglovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Tiskiwin also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Musee Tiskiwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing