We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of calm”

Menara Gardens and Pavilion
Book In Advance
More Info
$238.41*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour of Marrakech
Milton Keynes, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A haven of calm”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This is one of Marrakech's famous parks and, whilst it's fair to say that there isn't a lot to see, it is a nice place to spend an hour or two and get some peace from the rush of the city.

The reviewers that say they couldn't see a garden seem to have totally missed several acres of olive groves, focusing only on the central pool and pavilion. It's nice to wander through the groves, in the shade, seeing both tourists and locals relaxing.

The pool itself and the pavilion are smaller than I expected, but I've been back multiple times. It's great for photos and mine are certainly not touched up, as one reviewer suggested.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissHoneyBee-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    134
    210
    167
    114
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit far from the center”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

It's a good place to get away from the busy center but a bit far. A good way to get there is with the tourist bus. The view of the Atlas mountains is what manly attracted me to go to the gardens.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pcerqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Peaceful olive groves line a wide path up to the pavilion and large lake. The path stretches in a straight line back to Koutoubia mosque. A great view of the Atlas which would have been better in the afternoon for photos. There is a man doing lovely calligraphy souvenirs. Good for plane watchers as it is adjacent to the airport and easily viewed on take off from the left hand side of the plane.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Long walk from the centre and not a huge amount to see”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The gardens are a good 45-50 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna.

I was however a little disappointed when I arrived. All that was there was a man-made lake with a pavillion on one side. There was some seating which was nice but there wasn't anything there, for example no shops or toilet facilities.

I am told on some days there are nice views of the Atlas mountains but on the occasions I visited I couldn't see them.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mezzarino1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Distinctly Average !”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

If you were to go to the son-et-lumière, the attraction would probably earn a much higher rating fir charm and interest, but a daytime stroll on a wide strip between olive groves offers very limited appeal. The murky basin, full of brown muddy watersides contain carp, but they were quite lazy on the day we went...maybe a bit bored with bread already ! Other comments about "not a lot to see" are quite right, so if you want to see the place, the evening event sounds like a better bet.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menara Gardens and Pavilion also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Menara Gardens and Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing