We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don not even think of going .”

Menara Gardens and Pavilion
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.92*
and up
Marrakech Day Tour from Essaouira
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don not even think of going .”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It is bad , bad , bad. I can not believe that I did it. We took a taxi to this so called Manarat to find out that it is a place where locals go for picnics under the trees.. Wa wi ...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AbuDhabiEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    136
    212
    172
    115
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My partner was very excited about this place, so we decided to go there in the morning before the weather gets too hot. When we got there it was terrible, it looks like the place has been destroyed by a war, but funny enough when we took some pictures, they look quite good, but don't waste your time if your are only few days in Marrakech.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EduardoCastela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously? This is a tourist attraction?”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don't waste your time on going out of your way to this sad excuse of a tourist attraction. Any photos I had seen of this place prior to visiting had made it appear to be beautiful gardens that needed to be seen. Sadly the reality is a filthy stretch of water surrounded by crumbling concrete. It appears that this place has just been allowed to slip into ruin. Trust me your hotel pool will be much more impressive than this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Its an olive grove”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Its a massive olive grove, but its ok, and it turns out you need to write 50 characters. As part of a package its fine, but dont do there just to se it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Abandoned, creepy and strange”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

When you google, "running in Marrakech" one site pops up (after some sifting of course). This site recommends that a good place to run, and find other exercisers is in Menara gardens. "It has a beautiful path, trees and water..."

We tried to get there early to beat the heat, fully expecting "gardens." When we got there we were greeted by concrete, much like the rest of Marrakech. What a weird place! We walked through the entrance to see the "lake" that was a big concrete rectangle, surrounded by abandoned stadium seating- what in the world is the purpose of those? The sun is hot, and there is no shade to be had. We wandered around the abandoned buildings trying to figure out the appeal and purpose of this place We walked through the trees, there are many paths, and were were virtually the only people wondering through this part of the gardens. The whole thing felt weird. As we made our way around the gardens, we questioned over and over what this place was for.

We occasionally saw others walking, but weren't sure if they were just passing through or if this was an enjoyable experience for them.

We walked around the whole gardens and then made our way back to the Medina, overall unimpressed with this place. I am not sure this is worth the visit, unless you want to be hot, confused and unimpressed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelforlifePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menara Gardens and Pavilion also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Menara Gardens and Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing