We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its an olive grove” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Menara Gardens and Pavilion

Menara Gardens and Pavilion
Book In Advance
$234*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour of Marrakech
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Its an olive grove”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Its a massive olive grove, but its ok, and it turns out you need to write 50 characters. As part of a package its fine, but dont do there just to se it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    110
    166
    140
    98
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Abandoned, creepy and strange”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When you google, "running in Marrakech" one site pops up (after some sifting of course). This site recommends that a good place to run, and find other exercisers is in Menara gardens. "It has a beautiful path, trees and water..."

We tried to get there early to beat the heat, fully expecting "gardens." When we got there we were greeted by concrete, much like the rest of Marrakech. What a weird place! We walked through the entrance to see the "lake" that was a big concrete rectangle, surrounded by abandoned stadium seating- what in the world is the purpose of those? The sun is hot, and there is no shade to be had. We wandered around the abandoned buildings trying to figure out the appeal and purpose of this place We walked through the trees, there are many paths, and were were virtually the only people wondering through this part of the gardens. The whole thing felt weird. As we made our way around the gardens, we questioned over and over what this place was for.

We occasionally saw others walking, but weren't sure if they were just passing through or if this was an enjoyable experience for them.

We walked around the whole gardens and then made our way back to the Medina, overall unimpressed with this place. I am not sure this is worth the visit, unless you want to be hot, confused and unimpressed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelforlifePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
668 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Not what you think”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is always a stunning picture in the travel books and holiday brochures but the reality is its a dump. Every goes there and then asks why ???

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“worst place in all of marrakech”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a pile of garbage it is basically a dirty swimming pool. How it is a must see in marrakech is beyond me. I would not waste your time at this place. The train station is better than this place

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie_FY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go for the people, not so much the gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our wonderful riad host suggested that these gardens would be best to watch the sunset and immerse yourself with the local families that love the gardens. Considering he was right about all the other suggestions he made, I have to believe he was right about this too. Instead we visited early in the afternoon, and the experience was just okay.

Couple of ways to maximize the experience beyond that:

- Understand that "gardens" doesn't mean here what it means in a lot of other places. Beyond small patches of flowers near the pavilion, the gardens are mostly endless fields of trees. Even then there's not a variety of trees.

- Take some kind of transportation there. You can walk there from the medina. We did. It's a long walk though, especially if the sun is as vengeful and angry as it was then. Fair or not, the journey has an influence on how you perceive the destination. We might have been slightly less disappointed after a short taxi ride rather than a long walk. The walk itself isn't all that exciting either.

Even in the early afternoon there were already a decent amount of people there, most clearly locals. I can actually see the appeal to a certain extent - it's very quiet, surrounded by the trees and far away from the hectic city. I'm not sorry we went, but there are several other sites I'd prioritize in Marrakech ahead of it.

Practical info:

- Entry to the gardens is free, but there is a small admission (equivalent of a couple of dollars if I recall correctly) to get into the pavilion.

- There are bathroom facilities next to what appears to be a small cafe below and behind the bleachers on the opposite side of the pool from the pavilion. At about 2PM however the cafe was closed and the bathrooms were locked.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JUnderstudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menara Gardens and Pavilion also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Menara Gardens and Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing