We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Historical walls and gates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Ramparts

Marrakech Ramparts
Ranked #34 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: These are the walls that surround the city. Circle them on foot or on a rented bike.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Historical walls and gates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The old city walls and gates are an interesting and free to view attraction, which are well worth seeing.

The local government were undertaking work on parts of the wall when we visited.

I understand some visitors do a full circuit of the walls in order to photograph every gate into the old town. We didn't do this as we felt there were other attractions to see

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank seekeroffortune2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    86
    23
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, England
Level Contributor
704 reviews
441 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
“Ramparts and Gates - Beautiful Simple Historic Walls with a number of gates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The walls of the Medina are fairly extensive and built in a rich red sandstone. The ramparts surround the old city and are penetrated by a number of gateways, the most impressive of which is Bab Agnaou on the western side and close to the Saadian Tombs. Great to see a little bit of the older history of the place. Not a sight you would go to specifically visit as you will see the walls in many places as you visit the Medina, but if you wish to single any part out then head for the Bag Agnaou gate. This is fairly impressive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveJacksonnufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is the wall that surrounds the Medina, which is the old city. Their are beautiful gates, scattered along the wall. Not all the walls look the same. Different locations have different designs at the top. If you walk on the outside of them, when the sun is going down, the color of the wall just glows in its light.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Went to go for a run around ramparts ... take a map”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I thought the ramparts were the best place for a good long run. Indeed the footpaths are stable and it really is the only suitable area for a run. Looking at the map it seems simple to just run around in a loop. In reality there are a lot of turns where you don't know if it is following the wall or going into the Medina. I lost my bearings and ended up running back the way I came without realizing how I had done it. Even then I got lost again on the way back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BunchaSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,108 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sight, but don't go out of way to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The city ramparts are very beautiful and in my opinion 'look like' morocco.

That being said, they are really just walls. To a more artistic eye the place is very photogenic, and I'm sure at sunrise or sunset some great photos could be had.

Helpful?
11 Thank Ammon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Ramparts also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Ramparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing