We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best we saw in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Si Said Museum

Dar Si Said Museum
Ranked #32 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Here you’ll find a solid exhibition of historic and some contemporary Moroccan art. The building itself is full of intricate Byzantine designs and colors.
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Best we saw in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Much better than the Bahia Palace just down the road. There did not appear to be the tourist groups going around this one however so it was much quiter, I guess the coaches can't get close enough! Good collection of wood/paint/mosaic work along with a reasonable selection of artefacts. A small pair of binoculars would help you to see the ceiling work. Well worth the 80p entrance fee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mickeybUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    164
    66
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Not a lot of exhibits considering it calls itself "museum of Moroccan art" but the building was lovely, especially the 2nd floor where the tileworks were amazing throughout. Toilet lady roams the courtyard, so if you need to go, make sure you have small change to give her.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting Display of Artifacts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

same architecture as Bahia Palace but far fewer people. Good display of artifacts and crafts from across Morocco

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC6649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating, a must visit for art lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The museum was fascinating to say the least. We are avid art lovers and so, this was an opportunity we did not miss. The art inside was admirable. The museum itself was a treat for the eyes. The museum was a bit hard to find but the struggle was worth it. The architecture of the place reminded us why we were here. It was so unique, so different and intriguing. The courtyard inside was really big and the garden was simply lovely. We even sat down here for a while and enjoyed the view and did people watching too. I really liked the pottery and the clothes section. The traditional clothes were a delight to look at. The crafts were amazing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Well worth searching this place out and spending an hour or so here. It is close to the Bahia Palace down some side streets/alleys - look out for the signs for "Musee Dar Si Said" on the walls. (Note - it is closed on Tuesdays). It only cost 10 dirhams each to enter and we found it to be much better than the Museum of Marrakech (50 dirhams). Some interesting exhibits as was the building itself. It is not a slick or polished place. Unfortunately, people are allowed to walk over mosaics which have lifted in some places and, as a result, ruining them. Sad to see but that's the way it was in so many of the sites of interest in Marrakech. Due to the lack of funds the standards of preservation and display are not comparable to museums at home. However, this is still well worth visiting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Si Said Museum also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Si Said Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing