We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful architecture” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Si Said Museum

Dar Si Said Museum
Book In Advance
$76.55*
and up
Marrakech Guided Day Tour from Agadir
Ranked #34 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Here you’ll find a solid exhibition of historic and some contemporary Moroccan art. The building itself is full of intricate Byzantine designs and colors.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Close to Baha'i palace (3 mins walk), we thought it was the nicest interior architecture of the sights that we saw in Marrakech. It was quieter too which meant better photo opportunities. Only 10Dh each entry fee.

Helpful?
1 Thank saqawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    175
    72
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“As advertised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Collection was underwhelming, but the architecture was amazing in the interior. Some of the mosaics are truly spectacular! Overall, should only be a quick stop in a day of sightseeing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
342 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of a museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This delightful museum, barely mentioned in my guidebook, is much more interesting than the Saadian tombs or the Merdersa in my view. Formally a private house it now houses small displays of embroidery, pottery, daggers, guns etc downstairs in shady rooms around a lovely garden. Upstairs are rooms with stunning painted wooden ceilings and carved stone decorations. It only costs 60 dirhams and is much less crowded than the other museums we visited in Marrakech. It is badly sign posted, and a little difficult to find in the backstreets north of the Bahia Palace. It is also closed all day on Tuesdays.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fascinating collection and tranquil location in the medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We love this museum, and visit whenever we go to Marrakech. It's a delightful collection of authentic artefacts from the 19C, mainly beautiful Berber arts and crafts, and you can learn a lot about traditional Moroccan culture and history here. The galleries are cool and shady, and there's a very pretty garden. And its never crowded. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank helidjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“20X better than Bahia Palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

After my family's incredible let-down with Bahia Palace we headed back toward Medina Marrakech to find this Dar Si Said (directly North about 5 minutes walk). Much better maintained than Bahia Palace, less people - more to look at (artifacts, daggers, etc.) and historical perspective written in French and English. Then after leaving walked North and found a really nice restaurant for lunch. Reasonably priced but very well prepared and presented.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank camacampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Si Said Museum also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Si Said Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing