We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Expect a stiff neck!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Si Said Museum

Dar Si Said Museum
Ranked #32 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Here you’ll find a solid exhibition of historic and some contemporary Moroccan art. The building itself is full of intricate Byzantine designs and colors.
marrakech
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Expect a stiff neck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a fascinating building. Architecturally you will spend most of your visit looking up (hence the title). The ceilings are the most amazingly crafted pieces of art showing Moroccan craftanship at it's best. Moulded, painted, carved, this place has it all. You alost feel you should be wheeled round lying on your back to take in all the splendour. The museum exhibits really are minor compared to the splendid building they are housed in.

Helpful?
Thank shimmin2robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    164
    66
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
405 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Interesting but better if you speak French”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We visited this museum which was good, but all the information is in French, so without being able to read French fluently a lot was lost on us. Not the best attraction to visit, the Bahia and Badia palace were much more interesting, but nevertheless worth a stroll round. It's as cheap as chips!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best museum in Museum in Marrakech”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

For what it's worth the Dar Si Said is the best palace museum in Marrakech with beautiful rooms and courtyards, but do not expect a "real" museum.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Danois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

All of the exhibit information is in French/Arabic neither of which we read so we weren't able to get a lot out of the museum side of it. The building is pretty, but we visited after already having seen a number of examples of Moroccan architecture (Bahia palace, Badii palace, Saadian tombs, Ben Youssef Medersa) and so sped through pretty quickly.

For 10dh it was fine though, nice to get out of the heat/noise outside. There are toilets but you may have to tip a few dirhams to use them.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“beautiful example of Islamic architecture and art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The museum building itself is a very beautiful, as I entered it, first I saw an exhibition of modern Moroccan art which was surprising but very nice. Then I went to the main gallery with Berber art which is amazing. All these decorations over doors and windows are mind blowing. It's a 'must see' place in Marrakech.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ardra1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Si Said Museum also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Si Said Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing