We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el-Fnaa

Jemaa el-Fnaa
Book In Advance
$23*
and up
Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour
Ranked #11 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Amazing experience - unlike anything I have seen before. Colourful, crazy, fun and mental in the words of my daughter! You can avoid the snake charmers and monkeys if you want. Henna was very expensive - cheaper at ensemble artisanal
Night market a completely different experience again, prepare to be mobbed by food vendors and hypnotised by tribal music.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,602
    5,192
    2,479
    716
    486
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

If you are firm and polite, you shouldn't have any issues here. The square has an incredible atmosphere at day and at night - definitely come at both times. I had dinner at the street stalls on multiple occasions and never had any problems with the food, though the vendors themselves can be very pushy. At any time of day, be careful what you are taking photos of - you will be charged if you try and take a photo of anything that looks like it may be set up for tourists!

The orange juice from the carts during the day is really good, though I went with female friends and we got invited up into the cart for photos - the man used this as a chance to grope us (universal...)! Despite this, it's a really interesting place and is definitely a must see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hope W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Crazy square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

People watching heaven very scary though you have to have your witt's about you here. The locals try and charge you even if you take a picture of the scene

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cvh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must visit but the people are annoying”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

It's great to go and experience the main square, both during the day and after sunset as most books say. The place has a very different character at each of these times.

However, it's not really anything special. The food stalls look great lit up with all of the steam but the people are so pushy, in your face and a general pain that it makes it a bit tiring constantly saying no or swerving the idiots who try to touch you and lead you into their stall or store.

Worth a visit but you're only going to love it if you like busyness and annoying people.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ianmartin182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novara
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not the best of Marrakech”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I have read many enthusiastic comments about this place but I cannot share them. We have been there and also had dinner but I must say that it looks a little bit too much touristic for me. Nice but I think that this is not the best thing to be seen in Marrakech.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ingeNovara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el-Fnaa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el-Fnaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing