We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The heart of Marrakech but beware of the henna tattooists!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jemaa el-Fnaa

Jemaa el-Fnaa
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.00*
and up
Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour
Ranked #17 of 159 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The heart of Marrakech but beware of the henna tattooists!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Fabulous 'heart' of Marrakech. You will constantly be drawn back here at different times of the day. Be careful at night if you are a woman/women on your own, because the henna tattooists are likely to try and gram your arm and give you a tattoo, whether you want it or not. They then demand money for this. My daughter and I got caught but I told them from the outset that I would not be paying them and did not. However, if you do feel obliged to pay, do not give more than 50 Dirham for one hand. They will ask for anything between 200-600 dirham. The main concern though, is that they tend to mix hair dyes with the henna, so you can never be sure what is in their mixture!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,193
    6,338
    3,104
    922
    643
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yay you went there, now you will regret it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

The main square is the heart of the Medina and entrance to the Souks but there's nothing spectacular about it. It's large, noisy, has a very strong odor and you have vendors walking right up in your face and trying to force something into your hands. We actually had to physically run away from one man trying to force us to buy things, because in Marrakesh once you touch it you buy it. There's nothing impressive there at all, just a bunch of wagons and street vendors that will rip you off.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank swedishballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sights, but also noise and tourist traps”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

It's definitely worth visiting, and having a drink on one of the terraced cafes overlooking the city at sunset. Beware photographing the snake charmers, who will angrily hunt you down and demand money. Other vendors will pursue you -- keep your purse or wallet safe. Many entrances to the souk here; find a rally point if you and companions get lost. Most Riad hotels are a good walk from this square, but it's a great central location for finding your way back. Restaurants all serve the same stuff; boring after a few meals, so be prepared.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LesFroggies2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

What an amazing experience especially sitting at a restaurant overlooking the square watching it change from day to night. I wouldn't walk around dressed inappropriately especially at night. However if you dress without being 'on display' its fine. The colours, smells, sights are truly wonderful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverbirch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We visited the square on four occasions during our recent holiday, in the morning, afternoon (2) and evening.

Overall we enjoyed each visit but the evening was not as good as we expected. Perhaps the wish to sample food at different stalls was an issue as the stall holders often said "everything is the same and you should come to me not him"

The people selling rip off items became a bit tiresome.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PBDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el-Fnaa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el-Fnaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing