We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jemaa el-Fnaa

Jemaa el-Fnaa
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.00*
and up
Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour
Ranked #17 of 159 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Experiencing Jemaa el Fna was mind boggling. To see so many thousands of people was incredible. Certainly there were tourists there, but we felt many were local people, enjoying a warm spring evening. It was fascinating to people watch. Although we couldn't understand the story tellers, watching the expressions on the faces of the older women and men sitting around the actors was unforgetable. A short distance away, young boys that couldn't get through the crowds were watching from above, propped in trees and moving to the music playing loudly for the younger generations. Watching people enjoy the many food offerings was another great experience, especially the ones putting away great quantities of snails! And although the snake charmers and monkey handlers were likely there mostly for the tourists, our young grandson treasures the picture of the monkey that jumped up and sat on his grandfather's head. We did not see any animals being mistreated and certainly didn't feel any of the monkeys were dressed in ways more degrading than some of the ways we have seen people dress their dogs at home. We loved every minute, even went back for more, and never felt we were being unduly pressured (obviously sellers of anything will try to sell their wares), or pushed around. A simple "no thank you" was all we ever needed to say. We didn'd try eating at any of the food stalls on "ground level" but did enjoy sitting outside in the upper restaurants where we had great views of all the goings on and enjoyed light meals and coffee breaks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,187
    6,320
    3,103
    922
    642
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not enough adjectives to describe this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We loved and hated Jemaa el Fna equally its an amazing hectic atmospheric place but the constant hassling drove us crazy. We felt like we couldnt stop to look at anything as if you show any interest at all you soon regret it. We would love to have eaten at one of the stalls but even that proved to be challenging as they have boys trying to drag you in to their stalls and so decided to try one of the restaurants with a balcony to sit and wonder at this crazy place which we did on several occasions :-). Saying all of this I think everyone should see this square its amazing just do your homework regarding the tricks used to get your money

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steffi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Never seen anything quite like this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place needs to be seen to be believed. Noisy, chaotic and totally overwhelming to all the senses. Not as much hassle from the locals trying to sell you stuff as you would expect (compared to our experiences in India for example) - apart from in the food stall area at night.

So a must see attraction with a couple of caveats.... You will get ripped off at the food stalls if you don't bargain. Also I found the treatment of the animals (monkeys, snakes etc) to be a bit distressing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Brilliant nice atmosphere, went to the great balcony and paid 20 dirhams for a drink to see the view which was worht it.
all the markets were there and was able to hagle.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naz1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I really was looking forward to the famous Jemaa Al Fna,but found it to be too much hassle to enjoy. Be prepared, brace yourself to be poked, prodded and intimidated (yes ) into parting with your money!! Do not go there taking photographs of the locals or monkeys, snakes, without paying for the photo as you will be shouted at to hand money over. The whole area is chaos watch out for motorbikes, and cyclists as they take no prisoners!! There is a very strong smell of urine not sure if this was from the horses?? If you want to buy an item do not pay what they ask, get the price down start really low if you don't want to pay what they ask just walk away and chances are they will come for you and meet your price. I did this successfully. I went back to the area again in the evening just to see it lit up. Again it was chaos everywhere. Not suitable for small children and the faint hearted!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank c0rdial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el-Fnaa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el-Fnaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing