We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Shopping and Snakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
Book In Advance
$23*
and up
Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour
Ranked #11 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
1,406 reviews
671 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 657 helpful votes
“Shopping and Snakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

By Moroccan standards this felt fairly safe - but I'd still keep a close eye on your wallet. It is interesting, there are plenty of shops and easy for the inexperienced to get ripped off. In fact you will get ripped off, it is really just to what degree... But, enjoy the experience.
The actual square is best at dusk or evening with the snake charmers and other attractions, best to take some time and absorb the atmosphere...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,087 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,433
    5,063
    2,416
    704
    471
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is like being in a strange dream its a total head rush!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In the day this square appears like any other, come back at night mad berber drumming and tribal dancers send you into a trance! crowds and crowds of people, stalls and stalls selling everything from oranges to dried dates to oraments. Snake charmers, monkeys on leads its totally crazy, mad buzzing and beating like your heart after too much strong coffee. And in the centre are bench after table after bench of food stalls. However couple things to watch for are pick pockets one put their hand in my back pocket, silly fool never put anything in there. And the food is not clean at the stalls, got bad screaming Abdabs and vomitting at the airport on the way home!! was not much fun! But generally Jemaa El Fna was marrakech for me, nothing else compared.....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank glen555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beware henna ladies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We are 2 females. Each time we ventured into Jemaa el Fna we were accosted by the Henna Ladies. They continually grabbed hold of our arms trying to give us a free gift of a henna flower. They don't take NO for an answer, very persistent. We had to keep turning and walking away, not conducive to sight seeing. Also note when walking around the old town; the touts approach you pretending they work at your hotel and have just come off shift and although you don't recognise them, they recognise you and they would be so happy to show you the Berber exhibition which is on for this day only !!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All they say and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Sights and sounds and smells - assault on all senses - completely worth the visit ... over and over - went each night and was not disappointed

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Just_Get_Out_There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Great experience especially in the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited during the day and were a little underwhelmed but when we returned in the evening it had changed completely with loads of entertainers , meal stalls, lots of lights and hundreds of people. We went onto one of the square's cafe's upper terrace. (be prepared to pay a little more for your drinks) - but it is worth it to take in all the sights without any hassle( not that we experienced much hassle as it was nearly all good natured competition between the stall holders. The prices for food and drink at the stalls or the surrounding cafes was very reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NIRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing