We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beware henna ladies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el-Fnaa

Jemaa el-Fnaa
Book In Advance
$23*
and up
Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour
Ranked #12 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beware henna ladies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We are 2 females. Each time we ventured into Jemaa el Fna we were accosted by the Henna Ladies. They continually grabbed hold of our arms trying to give us a free gift of a henna flower. They don't take NO for an answer, very persistent. We had to keep turning and walking away, not conducive to sight seeing. Also note when walking around the old town; the touts approach you pretending they work at your hotel and have just come off shift and although you don't recognise them, they recognise you and they would be so happy to show you the Berber exhibition which is on for this day only !!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,615
    5,200
    2,483
    717
    486
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All they say and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Sights and sounds and smells - assault on all senses - completely worth the visit ... over and over - went each night and was not disappointed

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Just_Get_Out_There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Great experience especially in the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited during the day and were a little underwhelmed but when we returned in the evening it had changed completely with loads of entertainers , meal stalls, lots of lights and hundreds of people. We went onto one of the square's cafe's upper terrace. (be prepared to pay a little more for your drinks) - but it is worth it to take in all the sights without any hassle( not that we experienced much hassle as it was nearly all good natured competition between the stall holders. The prices for food and drink at the stalls or the surrounding cafes was very reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NIRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The square comes alive at night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Jemma el Fna is a great place to spend the day and night. We walked into the square when we first arrived and had a drink at Cafe De'France to take it all in. At night time the square comes alive with performers, street food and market sellers. We ate at No.15 and No.25 - both were good, No.25 being better but more expensive. Dinner is around 200dirhams which includes bread,olives, water, and a great selection of moroccan dishes.

Be weary of the snake charmers and locals who try to approach you with Atlas monkeys. My boyfriend just responded to a hello from one local and before he knew it, had a monkey on his shoulders!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere at the night market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The food at the night market was so good that we ate there twice. Though not having the luxury of a sit down restaurant, there's several stalls to choose from and there's lots of variety. The cous cous and kebab dishes were great. I was concerned that we may get ill from eating here, but didn't at all. The atmosphere is great and some of the best food on our trip was eaten here at a very low price. It's ideal to eat here, enjoy the entertainment on the square and then head off for cocktails.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leanneengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el-Fnaa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el-Fnaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing