We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jemaa el Fna

Jemaa el Fna
| Square of Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$23*
and up
Shopping in the Souks of Marrakech Private Tour
Ranked #12 of 154 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is the entrance to the outdoor market and food court of the city center.
Ballerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worst place ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed close to Jemaa el Fnaa for the 3 days I was in Marrakech. I really hated every time I had to go through it. All the hustlers, scammers, rude people etc etc really could ruin every day. Every time I would look at something, even from a distance, there would be someone trying to make money out of me. The ones with the monkeys tried to get me to take pictures with them, the ones with shops tried to pull me in, others tried to guide me in another direction and so it goes on.

Normally I like a big crowd like New York or Bangkok, but I will never recommend people to visit this place for a longer time. There are a few good restaurants here and there, and it's more fun to sit and watch all the frenzy from a distance. Also, there are soooo many scooters and bikes that I was constantly feeling I was in danger of being hit by a bypasser.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AllanBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,449
    5,068
    2,419
    705
    472
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Morrocan version of "The Apperentice"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Jemma at night - great atmosphere. Not really for the food but to experience the Morrocan art of persuasion. Join in the fun. A must do for visitors :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nahnoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I really don't recommend the central restaurants in the evening, shoved together and over priced for quality, choose some of the small restaurants/cafes around the edge, some great tagines for 3€. Please don't have photos taken with the monkeys, these are taken from the wild as babies and mostly seem very unhappy in their life hugging tourists and probably tied up all day. But do talk to the men with them, I met one who had a good relationship with his monkey and seemed to be kind though I still see it as prison for these animals, i gave no money but encouraged the guy to use a soft, supple leather collar rather than a chain and said how important it was to treat them well. If lots of people say that tourists like to see animals treated well perhaps it will help the life of those already taken. Living in hope!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sooooo much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

listened to story tellers.. saw and held snakes & monkeys.. great experience! great atmosphere .. i fell in love with marrakech.. and i enjoyed this 100%.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Soul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“the soul of marrakech - lively and vibrant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

perhaps one of the most tourist filled places within Marrakech, Jemaa el Fna still recieves 5 stars for what an adventure it provides. More commercialized than its old medina counterpart, the bright sun filled plaza beside a mosque provides visitors with full ambiance of french - moroccan tourist culture. The plaza is filled with fruit and spice stalls, locals with monkeys and snakes that they offer tourists to take pictures with for a small fee and a mixed plethora of entertainers such as magicians and story tellers and bystanders. The aura of the place is so rich in its culture and diversity that one will notice peddlers selling carriage rides or toys being able to speak at least 11 different languages to the basic degree. the liveliness and bustle of the place is turned into solemnity during their calls for prayers which happens 5 times a day. A completely different experience and culturally enriching adventure. Anyone who calls themselves worldly must simply experience something like this at least once in their lives.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jemaa el Fna also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Jemaa el Fna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing